Brie Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This is really a good cheese soup. Overlook the "expert" words and use your common sense on what to skim off, etc. A local restaurant makes this soup, so I looked here for a recipe. This was better when I omitted the carrots and pureed the mushrooms in a food processor the second time. If you've tried and enjoyed Brie Soup, don't bypass this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This soup is so good, its silly. I look forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
I didn't use the celery, added a few peas instead. I also didn't use all of the cream just a tbsp really felt it didn't need it. Considering there was quite a bit of brie in this it was surprisingly light. We all enjoyed this and I would definitely make this for company. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I love this. It freezes good also. I added leeks, onions, and garlic. I also puree everything togther and strain it several times. My chicken stock is home made also. This is a great basis to make your own. I have now made this 5 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I made this for Christmas just as the recipe says except instead of skimming off the impurities, I just ran it through a sieve after melting the cheese....it was silky smooth and the BEST creamy soup my family has ever had! Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I followed Cheryn's suggestion and omitted the carrots and pureed the mushrooms and celery. I also figured out the hard way you are supposed to remove the rind before you put it in the pot. The soup is good, but I thought it was missing something. I am not good at figuring out how to make a recipe better, but if I make it again I'll try garlic or onion or more seasoning or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
What a great soup! I used only peas (instead of all the veggies listed) which really simplified the recipe. While browning the flour I added two sliced cloves of garlic. I didn't want to share this soup with my husband, it turned out so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Very good, easy to make. I choose not to strain it. I didn't add the mushroom or wine, and had to substitute 2 cups of milk for some of the Chicken stock. Finished product is different, but GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEF1127

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Teaneck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Warren, Pennsylvania, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States