Brie Pecan Rollups with Raspberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
My husband says this is the best chicken recipe ever! I did change it a bit. I pounded the chicken flat, and used goat cheese instead of brie. I have used brie also and I like both but I have some goat cheese in the house that I want to use up so I used that. You can cut the amount of brie in half and still have leftover cheese. I ground the pecans in the food process or until they are like bread crumbs. That way they stick to the chicken better. And then I bake the chicken instead of frying. I bake it at 350 degrees for about 30-40 minutes. I use raspberry jam for the sauce mixed with chambord. I melt the jam on the stove and add the chambord. It is really good and saves time. This is my go to fancy chicken recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Might be the odd ball here, but I felt disappointed with this. The flavors just weren't there. I did things a little differently, however not so much with the ingredients really, as with the cooking method. Generally I get a bit weary about not cooking chicken all the way through which was my fear based on the instruction for frying for 15 minutes then again for another 15 mintues which in my mind would burn the outside shell of nuts, but not cook the inside. So after frying for 15 mintues first, I then threw it in the oven for 20 instead. The chicken came out very juicy, but bland. The cheese could hardly be tasted and the watery taste of the chicken dispersed the rasberry flavor. I will try this again with just frying like it calls, but I will use more oil than is being called for, fry in a small pan and maybe cover it or something. Also, someone mentioned that they had issues having the pecans stick to the chicken. This was my other reason for putting it in the oven where there would not be a necessity to turn it over many times, hence making the pecans fall off. However, I think there is a fix for this. This would involve crushing the nuts to almost a powder before covering the chicken. (If you like the crunchy texture, you can add some non crushed pecans to the sauce instead.) I have figured out from other recipes that a good way to make things stick is to dredge the chicken in a thin coat of flour first, then dredge in the egg and last roll it in the outsid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
My guests were impressed with this dinner entree. Top cut the fat, I used only half the Brie and baked rather than fried these. To get a crispy oven fried version, I simply sprayed them with butter flavored cooking spray (rather than using egg dip) prior to rolling them in GROUND toasted pecans. To cut carbs, I subd spoonful equal for the sugar in the berry sauce and added a touch of lemon juice. YUMMY! Thanks Rebecca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This was very tasty and the presentation was impressive. I will make this recipe again because it tasted and looked so good even though the prep was a little messy and I had a difficult time with the cheese mixture staying inside the chicken when I rolled it up. To make this a little lighter I did make a few changes - I substituted 1/2 of the finely chopped pecans with seasoned breadcrumbs (put both in food processor to mix to desired consistency) and baked at 350 degrees F for 30 minutes instead of cooking in olive oil on stove top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2002
I used 1/2 lb. of brie, and I still had some mixture leftover. Two cups of pecans is too much - most of them ended up on the bottom of the skillet turning black. The raspberry sauce on top really made this recipe good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
We liked the taste of this alot - but make sure you crush the pecans good, they didn't stay on the chicken well, and make sure you wrap the chicken around the cheese well or it will leak out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
Made this with less cheese and less onions...pan fried for 15 minutes than in 350 degree oven for 15 minutes. It was really great. Dinner guests said they had to have recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
Interesting and fun flavors - a dish for those with a sense of adventure. Definitely use less cheese and green onion than the recipe calls for, or there will be a lot of it left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
Great recipe! I used half the brie, and chilled the chicken after the brie was applied for about 10 min, while I made the rasberry sauce. I used Splenda in place of sugar and added about 1/4 cup of Chambord. Next time I will grind the pecans more and bake the rolls, so I can do other things while they cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JennP
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
We didn't have pecans so used cashews instead. Tasted good...the brie wasn't super but may be personal preference. The raspberry sauce added lots of colour and flavour! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States