Brie Pecan Rollups with Raspberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I just heated respberry "Simply Fruit" for the topping and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
My husband says this is the best chicken recipe ever! I did change it a bit. I pounded the chicken flat, and used goat cheese instead of brie. I have used brie also and I like both but I have some goat cheese in the house that I want to use up so I used that. You can cut the amount of brie in half and still have leftover cheese. I ground the pecans in the food process or until they are like bread crumbs. That way they stick to the chicken better. And then I bake the chicken instead of frying. I bake it at 350 degrees for about 30-40 minutes. I use raspberry jam for the sauce mixed with chambord. I melt the jam on the stove and add the chambord. It is really good and saves time. This is my go to fancy chicken recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Sorry, but I was really dissapointed with this recipe after all the good reviews. It was absolutely tasteless and everyone at home was forced to eat it basically, as it was the only thing available for dinner. My boyfriend suggested stuffing it with blue cheese instead, which sounded like a good idea.If I EVER make anything similar to this recipe again, I would use chives flavored cream cheese and finely ground sausage or bacon in the mixture to add flavor to it and bake it of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
This recipe was really good. I followed the advice of several others and halved the amount of Brie. To make it lighter (again following someone's advice), instead of the egg wash, I just sprayed the tops of each chicken roll with a buttery flavored spray and then sprinkled the ground pecans over the top. For the raspberry sauce, I used Splenda instead of sugar for a lighter version. I baked it rather than frying and they came out beautifully. I had no problem with leaking cheese, but I didn't actually roll mine, I just folded the chicken on all sides over the top and held it together with toothpicks. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Might be the odd ball here, but I felt disappointed with this. The flavors just weren't there. I did things a little differently, however not so much with the ingredients really, as with the cooking method. Generally I get a bit weary about not cooking chicken all the way through which was my fear based on the instruction for frying for 15 minutes then again for another 15 mintues which in my mind would burn the outside shell of nuts, but not cook the inside. So after frying for 15 mintues first, I then threw it in the oven for 20 instead. The chicken came out very juicy, but bland. The cheese could hardly be tasted and the watery taste of the chicken dispersed the rasberry flavor. I will try this again with just frying like it calls, but I will use more oil than is being called for, fry in a small pan and maybe cover it or something. Also, someone mentioned that they had issues having the pecans stick to the chicken. This was my other reason for putting it in the oven where there would not be a necessity to turn it over many times, hence making the pecans fall off. However, I think there is a fix for this. This would involve crushing the nuts to almost a powder before covering the chicken. (If you like the crunchy texture, you can add some non crushed pecans to the sauce instead.) I have figured out from other recipes that a good way to make things stick is to dredge the chicken in a thin coat of flour first, then dredge in the egg and last roll it in the outsid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This came out very well both times I've made it. The pecans have fallen off but I've just put them in the pan alone and put them on top with the raspberry sauce. I've also substituted the pecan's for cashews which was also very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Excellent, I added a leaf or two of spinach with the brie before rolling to add some color. I would do that again. I also made sure the pecans were crushed well added a bit of bread crumbs to the pecan mixture sprayed with a touch of butter and baked. WOW this plated so nice and was incredible in taste. I did not have any rasberries so I used strawberry preserve looking forward to trying the rasberry sauce. This dish would be excellent with a mixed green salad, candied walnut or pecans, blue cheese, pear salad with a rasberry vinegarett. I prepared the chicken the night before (pounding flat) so the rolling cheese and coating with pecans seemed mimimal in prep work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
This was ok, but didn't really make my taste buds go wow. Sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Takes a little time to prepare and is more costly than an average dinner. However, the taste was amazing and my guests raved. It looks fantastic plated too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This dish was excellent- I was unsure of the raspberry sauce at first, but when I tried it I couldn't believe how much it added to the dish! A delightful contrast of flavors- pecans at their best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States