Brie en Croute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
If nothing else, timing and presentation are worth 5 stars. However, if you believe you eat first with your eyes, then this is truly a remarkably delicious crowd pleaser. My daughter's neighborhood has a wine tasting get together 4 times a year and this past weekend she was the hostess for the event. We found this recipe and decided that on looks alone it would get a good review. It was wonderful! I can't tell you how many copies we've made of this recipe to give to the party goers who raved over it. Deliciously gorgeous, very easy prep. Can't ask for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernGma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
WOW- this was so elegant and delicious! I didn't have any leftover puff pastry, so I etched a design on top with a sharp knife and it still looked lovely. Thanks for a simple recipe that was a crowd pleaser- I will hang on to this one for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarcieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This turned out great! It was a hit at our family gathering. I did not alter the recipe. I had left over puff pastry that I used to wrap little smokies. It worked fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Step #3 will clarify your confusion. This is baked in the oven for 20 minutes - then you let it stand for 1 hour before serving. That adds up to 1 Hr. & 20 min. before it would be ready to be served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
So easy & so delicious! Gorgeous presentation. I sued an 8oz brie, baked 25min and cooled 20 (per puff pastry site). Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Second time I made this was in a hurry and used Craisins, gosh quick easy and so so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyous

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This is one of the most elegant, and easy appetizers there is. I have been making this for years. I took a tip from someone else and before baking, put it wrapped well in foil and freezer bag and froze it. Then when I baked it (a little longer) the cheese did not run out of the crust as it can do sometimes. There are many different variations on the fruit/nut mixture and the preserves/jam, I've done apricot preserves, raspberry jam, used walnuts instead of almonds, hazelnuts, the list is endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
It is also really good if instead of parsley you use any type of preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I've been making this for over 10 years, and yes, it's always a hit! Because I like to have a table of several appertisers, I usually make this with the smaller triangle shaped Brie and using a 1/2 sheet of pastry. At times I havn't used the parsley, but just the sheet of dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I have been making this for years and always spoon Apricot Preserves over the top when I first take it out of the oven and sprinkle chopped roasted pecans, diced dried cheries and apricot pieces for a spectacular presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Sausage & Stuffing Criss-Cross Pastry

See how to make an elegant stuffed puff pastry main dish!

Apple Pie Spirals

These tasty apple morsels are an elegant alternative to traditional pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States