Brie Cheese Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
This is always a hit!! I use a can of crescent rolls - it's definitely the best way - just roll out the rolls - & follow the rest of the recipe - wrap the dough to cover the cheese & bake. its awesome. (Also, crumble some brown sugar over the egg wash befor baking.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
444 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
This is SO easy to prepare, but it looks impressive and tastes divine! Everybody will love it -- and you, for bringing it. A few changes: CHEESE - I always use brie wedges because they're more readily available than the circles. They work fine. Even though I don't LOVE the rind when I eat the cheese raw, I leave it on in this recipe and it all just tastes delicious when cooked. Also, the technique of freezing the brie before you cut it in half works splendidly. PRESERVES - Don't hold back. I use about half an 18 oz. jar per recipe and, like I said, it tastes SO good. ALMONDS - Yes! Add the shaved almonds in between the sandwiched halves of brie and preserves. You'll love it! TEMPERATURE - 400* F works well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
258 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
Everyone raved about this! I cut my brie in half and placed the preserves on the cut side. I made one with peach preserves, and one with 1/4 cup walnuts toasted in a tablespoon of butter and a tsp. of cinnamon then mixed with 1/2 cup of brown sugar. I rolled the puff pastry out with a rolling pin to stretch the dough for the two halves.Just be sure to seal the edges of the puff pastry well.I didn't brush it with egg and it was fine. You could use any kind of preserves and it would be fantastic. It went so fast,I should have made two more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Loved, loved, loved this simple and elegant recipe! I actually used a 13 oz round of brie, and had plenty of pastry to cover. I was a little concerned about cutting the soft cheese in half, so I put it in the freezer while my pastry sheet was thawing. Cut beautifully. I used raspberry preserves, made beautiful pastry leaves and berries for the top, and served on a cake platter with fresh raspberries around. Wonderful! This would be terrific for the holidays. Thanks so much for sharing! Addendum 12/28/08: please note, I place the brie in the freezer only 30 minutes, I do not freeze it, just give it a good chill to set it up for easy slicing! Hope this helps clarify, Wendy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
This is by far the best appetizer recipe I've ever made and it turned out perfect! I made this for our wine club and people raved about it. I used a 19 oz. wheel of Bire and 6 Tbl preserves. To help keep the preserves from leaking out the sides, I scooped out a small amount of the brie from the center of one side and filled with the preserves. I also used two sheets of puff pastry using the egg white as glue between the sheets. It looked beautiful and thanks to all the egg white - no leakage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
I made this for Christmas Eve. I used philo dough because that is what I accidentally bought instead of puffed pastry. I used 7 sheets and brushed each sheet VERY LIGHTLY with melted butter. I baked in a little hotter oven (400 deg) for only 20 minutes. Also sprinkled cinnamon sugar on the top before baking. It was delicous! Everyone wanted the recipe. Thank you, Susan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNALU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
This is a very good brie recipe. Some advice, make sure you bake it on a pan that has sides, so that if the pastry brakes open, the oils from the cheese don't melt all over your oven (speaking from experience). 2 of the 3 times I have made it the pasty has broken open while baking, which makes it messy, but it is still worth making! It is a very yummy mix. I have received many complements on it. I think next time I will try using half a wheel of brie, so the pasty wraps around the whole thing and I can wrap it a little more loosely so that maybe it won't break! Good luck and Bon Appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Steamboat Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
Very good idea with the perserves we used a sugar free strawberry from Polaner. We generally make brie and serve an adriatc fig spread on the side so this was a nice deviation from the normal. To keep the brie from leaking you need to brush each fold you make with the pastry dough with egg, egg acts as glue and fuses your pastry dough together which the recipe does not tell you to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
This is incredible. I used a generous amount of preserves, added blanched almonds and substituted crescent roll dough for the puff pastry. My family and friends loved it. As a matter of fact, my husband didn't even get to taste it because the kids polished it off. This is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2003
Simply magnificent! Couldn't be easier to prepare. My guests absolutely loved it! Can be an appetizer or a dessert - either way, for the amount of effort it took, this was a big, big winner! I used 2 sheets of filo - the first with the tuck on the top, the second on the bottom. One sheet alone appeared to be too thin/flimsy. The advice to use a pan with sides to prevent leaking is an excellent idea. While baking I had to pull mine out too scoop up around the sides so it wouldn't flow off the baking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brie, Pear, and Black Pepper Appetizer

Try this simple cheese and fresh pear party snack.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States