Brie and Walnut Tartlets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Ah, can you say savory and yummy? Perfect with a glass of wine. I made these as a trial for one of the dishes I will be bringing for Thanksgiving dinner to a friends-I will definately be bringing these. I used an Herbed Brie. The smell as they are cooking is to die for! Great recipe. Make sure you use a good quality Dijon mustard. I made this again using a regular flavored Brie and they were not as good as the first batch- I will make again only using the Herbed. The guests at the dinner scarfed them down but I knew that my trial batch was better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This dish was o.k.. None of the flavors really stood out. I had to add a lot more mustard to this dish to give some more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
When I made this for my guests, I dipped the brie in white wine before placing it in the tart. They loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
5 stars with a bit of tweaking. Instead of the puff pastry, try pre-made phyllo cups - so much EASIER! Also, add half a red grape on top AFTER cooking for a pretty presentation. The fruit brings out all the flavors, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Let me start by saying I'm not exactly a genius in the kitchen, but...instead of using puff pastry sheets, I used the pepperidge farm puff pastry shells because I thought going through all that with the sheets wasn't worth it when all you needed was a pastry cup. Bad idea. I didn't realize they come flat and raise in the oven. They have to cook for 20 minutes, per the package instructions. So I cooked them for 15 minutes and cut out the middle. (You can't take off the top and fill them. When you take off the top, most of the pastry comes off and there's no "well" to stuff). When you cut out the middle, the space is so tiny. It was hard to judge how much nut mixture vs. cheese to get in there. I put them back in the oven for 5 minutes and the cheese melted. Having said all that, they were just okay. I thought the mustard was too strong (I used grey poupon). And don't chop the nuts too small or they just get lost. I gave it 4 stars because I didn't use the sheets as directed and maybe the filling would have been more balanced (more cheese vs. mustard mix) and tasted different. Another reviewer used phyllo cups and had success. The silver lining to this attempt is I found puffpastry.com and they have some recipes there that I'll try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I'm giving this a 5 even though I changed it a bit. I think the changes I made were not big enough to affect the final outcome, and I can never stick to a recipe! I used frozen tart shells instead of the other pastry because I was unable to find the pepperidge farm stuff. I used herbed brie and left the rind on. After cooking I topped with half of a red grape. I served these at a large party and had MANY requests for the recipe. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goosegreetings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Perfect bite sized appetizers! These were great, the kids and the adults kept coming back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nell

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I used the mini phyllo cups and added half of a red grape per recommendations. The grape was a nice touch but I think next time I will spend the extra time and use puff pastry. These would have been so much better with the buttery taste of the pastry compared to the crispness of the phyllo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renee816

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Danvers, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
First off, this tasted really good. 2nd off, it was super easy to make. It was so easy, that I had read the recipe a couple days before off the internet, then made it 2 days later when my internet wasn't working. I was worried at 1st but I somehow had the recipe memorized (because it's so easy) that even without the recipe, these turned out great! I made no changes..I liked the puff pastry. I used 1 of those small brie cheeses you buy at the store, the whole circle. Anyway excellent :) I am going to make it again soon. Oh the only reason I rated it a 4 and not a 5 is that mine did not turn out looking as good as the picture lol...maybe more practice with the puff pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Very sweet nut combination overtakes the yummy taste of Brie cheese. Probably won't make again although my guests enjoyed them more than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Sausage & Stuffing Criss-Cross Pastry

See how to make an elegant stuffed puff pastry main dish!

Apple Pie Spirals

These tasty apple morsels are an elegant alternative to traditional pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States