Brie and Mushroom Phyllo Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I make a recipe very similar to this one, but instead of taking the time to wrap them into phyllo triangles, I buy the pre-made phyllo tartlet shells. Then I simply fill them with the brie and the sherry-sauteed mushrooms and bake them for 5 minutes. So easy and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
These were delicious! I made them for our Christmas party & they were the first things gone - and the garlic makes them so tasty, I don't know how anyone could rate them as bland! Instead of cloves of garlic, I used the fresh crushed garlic from the local grocer. I tried them the wrapped way & it was a bit time consuming, so the second batch I simply cut the phyllo into squares & put them in small muffin tins, put in the cheese & topped with the mushroom/garlic mixture. If your squares are big enough, you can still pinch the tops together, but even the ones we left open were beautiful & just as tasty. Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
So, basically I'm lazy and instead of hassling with the phyllo I used frozen puff pastry sheets. I rolled them out a little bit flatter than they come originally and with a pizza cutter made small 3" squares. I put a small cube of brie (after freezing for about 20 minutes and cutting off the rind)onto the square, 1/2 teaspoon of the mushroom mix and sealed the triangle. I made them yesterday, froze them and put them in ziplock bags for my party next week. I baked a couple to test them and they're super yummie. I was afraid the garlic would be a bit much but it's perfect. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dylan's Nana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I personally do not eat mushrooms, but I made these for Christmas Eve and they were gone in minutes. There were some changes though. I used white mushrooms, sauteed them with onions, garlic and sherry. This recipe would have been much too bland if it had been prepared according to directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I made these once and didn't like the work that went into them so I bought the phyllo cups instead. I also added itallian sausage and instead of brie i used an itallian 5 cheese blend and melted it over the top. They were gone in seconds and everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I LOVED this. My boyfriend's is in the hospital, so I made these for him (and me!). It was my attempt to impress the two men were staying in the same hospital room and their very Turkish and Greek families (with the typical grandmas who cook huge amounts of food for everyone), but we greedily finished them in the other room because they were so good we didn't want to share! :) I used sliced gouda cheese (one half slice on the bottom of the mushroom and one half on top) and regular button mushrooms because the shop was closed on Sunday, but they were still amazingly tasty. Be sure you roll or fold them tightly or else they 'leak' cheese and it gets hard on the baking tray. Mine took about 30 minutes in the oven and I forgot to turn them over but didn't notice at all until I re-read the recipe just now. :P I've never flipped byrek and it's always been fine. I used pre-cut triangle-shaped phyllo dough and it worked well- a different shape, but still tasted the same. Just a little more awkward to butter since I was taught in Albania never to let two pieces of dry phyllo dough touch each other. :) I'll certainly try this again with other vegetables and cheese as a way to use up leftover veg and the huge amount of phyllo dough that you get in one pack! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Very tasty! I added a tad of sherry to the mushrooms. If I were to make this again, I would definitely opt for puff pastry or the phyllo shells since the wrapping was very time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
great recipe...some spinach and green onion are nice additions...remember you can freeze these bad boys 2 weeks ahead of time if you want
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORVILLE76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This was the first time I ever worked with phyllo dough. It was a little difficult until I got the hang of it. This recipe made the extra work involved worth it! They had a very rich and wonderful taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
These are yummy.Have made following recipe. I have used puff pastry to cut time were just as good made them easy to make cut, stuff ,seal with fork and egg wash and bake.Great with white wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States