Brie and Mushroom Phyllo Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I thought these tasted excellent. They were time comsuming to make but my guests couldn't stop eating them and they looked great...Everyone thought that I bought them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
I hate both mushrooms and brie, so I didn't try this myself...but my husband ranted and raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Not thrilled with the outcome. They were hard to put together and sort of flat in taste. I wouldn't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I personally do not eat mushrooms, but I made these for Christmas Eve and they were gone in minutes. There were some changes though. I used white mushrooms, sauteed them with onions, garlic and sherry. This recipe would have been much too bland if it had been prepared according to directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
These were a perfect side for our last women's tea party... I normally don't go for mushroom, but these were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I make a recipe very similar to this one, but instead of taking the time to wrap them into phyllo triangles, I buy the pre-made phyllo tartlet shells. Then I simply fill them with the brie and the sherry-sauteed mushrooms and bake them for 5 minutes. So easy and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
These were delicious! I made them for our Christmas party & they were the first things gone - and the garlic makes them so tasty, I don't know how anyone could rate them as bland! Instead of cloves of garlic, I used the fresh crushed garlic from the local grocer. I tried them the wrapped way & it was a bit time consuming, so the second batch I simply cut the phyllo into squares & put them in small muffin tins, put in the cheese & topped with the mushroom/garlic mixture. If your squares are big enough, you can still pinch the tops together, but even the ones we left open were beautiful & just as tasty. Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This was very difficult to make, not because of the complexity of the ingredients, but because it took so long (longer than the time it said) to make these Phyllo Puffs. As I was making them, I swore that I would never do it again, but once I brought them with me to the party that I was going to, they got rave reviews! I wouldn't choose to make these again, but if someone asks me to, and I can get a little help in the kitchen, I would... Extremely tasty, extremely time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I made these once and didn't like the work that went into them so I bought the phyllo cups instead. I also added itallian sausage and instead of brie i used an itallian 5 cheese blend and melted it over the top. They were gone in seconds and everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
These are yummy.Have made following recipe. I have used puff pastry to cut time were just as good made them easy to make cut, stuff ,seal with fork and egg wash and bake.Great with white wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States