Brickle Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I ended up using a chocolate fudge cake mix, because that was all I had on hand. I also had to double the recipe like other reviewers. I used skor bits and mini chocolate chips to dip in, and these turned out great! Not too sweet. All the sweetness was from the skor bits and chocolate chips. I'll make these again in a pinch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Oh I am sorry but I didn't like these. Honestly it tasted like two sweets that didn't mesh well together at all. Yellow cake and toffee bits did not taste good to me but maybe substitute a chocolate mix? I have made yellow cake mix cookies before that were terrific but this recipe I didn't care for. Sorry for me not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
These were good. They are really easy to make and have a nice light texture to them, but they are very sweet...almost too sweet for my personal taste. Also, I have never seen a 9oz. box of cake mix, so I measured out 9oz. on a food scale and will just use the rest for cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Couldn't find a 9-oz box of yellow cake mix, so I just doubled the recipe and used a regular-sized cake mix. I used Heath English Toffee Bits which have a little bit of chocolate and melted nicely. Do allow ample space between the cookies because they will spread out. Nothing wrong with a soft, chewy-textured cookie with only 7 ingredients, and you don't have to even turn the mixer on. Works for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
The first time I made these, I took them to work. Everyone loved them and six people asked me for the recipe. These are really good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I'm going to be honest, I tried these cookies looking for something new and personally wasn't a big fan of them. I tried serving them at my friend's monthly game night, and very few went. Maybe it's just us, but I found these cookies to be kind of just very sweet but mostly flavourless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
PERFECT cookie and really hard to mess up! I wouldn't worry about refridgerating...just wash your hands with a bit of water to avoid stickiness. I've attended a routine potluck for ten years and these cookies are BY far the most requested and FABULOUS dipped in coffee. Also PERFECT for "lofthouse" style cookies if you leave out the nuts and add flavored icing and sprinkles...I did orange. YUM! Will make again, again, and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I've made this twice in the last two weeks with the following variation: Mary K's Buttered Almond Version: Substitute slivered almonds broken in half or thirds for the pecans and used butterscotch chips for the almond brickle or toffee bits. The second time I made it, I put the chips in with the whole mix. I felt it looked better and was easier to handle this way. The crumbliness of the dough makes me think of shortbread. It went over real well at the house and the party. It was nice that it wasn't overly rich or sweet. Disappeared quickly and was definitely addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Very close to Lofthouse cookies. These are excellent and EASY. I cooked 13 minutes in my oven, which is correctly calibrated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
These are fantastic. I don't know why I hadn't thought of putting brickle or toffee into a cake or cookie before since I adore a nice toffee blizzard, but I'm glad I stumbled across this one. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States