Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I made this on my grill using a grill pizza stone I got from Crate and Barrel and it came out amazing! My backyard smelled like a pizzaria and my sons and husband wanted more than I made. Like others, I used AP flour instead of bread flour and the crust was perfect. I also docked my dough with a fork to ensure it got crusty and cooked through, which worked wonders. Definitely a keeper especially on the grill in the summer to keep the kitchen cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This crust was definately restaraunt quality! I would say even better! My oven does not go past 500-So, I did cook it longer. Try the exquisite pizza sauce on this site-- It is awesome too- like another reader suggested! A gourmet pizza for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
LOVE this recipe. I drain my tomatoes to make them less "soupy," and cook the crust on a crisping pizza sheet. Have recently used the recipe to grill pizza. Cut each ball in half and roll thin to make "individual" pizzas. Cook according to this allrecipes video on grilling pizza. Amazing. Just had the Moms over for Mother's Day and it was a huge hit. My Mother-in-law declared that it should be a tradition. Bonus was that that the kids loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I love this crust! It's the best! I don't have a pizza stone, so I cook it on my pizza pan at 425 degrees f for 20 minutes... awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I lived on Long Island til a few years back. No one anywhere in the country except in that region knows what pizza really tastes like. Presently I live in Louisville Ky and let me tell you something...the pizza that is served up here sucks. If you want good elastic pizza dough...get a bread machine. This was a pretty good recipe. I made calzone with it added extra mozzerella and riccotta cheese. Turned out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Very tasty, a little too chewy on the outside though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_cuppin_cakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Best crust EVER!! The crust was crispy and tender and the taste was just right. Will use only this recipe when making pizza at home. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
First let me start by saying my oven would not go beyond 500* and secondly, I don't have a pizza stone so I used a metal perforated pizza pan. Now, being a southerner, I have never had Brooklyn style pizza so I didn't know what this was supposed to be like. This dough was so easy to work with, my husband came in and watched me stretching the crust and thought I knew what I was doing. If I had known how this would have been the kind you can toss because it is so elastic and easy to work out. My husband didn't like this at all, probably because it was floppy and bendy and not crispy, but my son loved it and I thought it was pretty good considering I prefer a thin and crispy crackery type crust. Thanks, I'll likely make this again sometime when hubby isn't home for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
The best homemade pizza I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I have tried so many pizza crust recipes now, I'm getting disgusted. Being originally from NY I prayed this would be The One. I'm not done searching yet. My only problem is the size. Three cups of flour, IMO, is not enough to make TWO 14-inch crusts. The first one "rolled" out to be about 8-10 inches, which was very disappointing, but it tasted AWESOME. The second one I rolled out to 14 inches and it was so thin in the middle it fell apart. Based on taste this recipe is great, but next time I will use my Kitchenaid and find a recipe that uses a good 6 cups of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Pizza on the Grill

See why a conventional oven just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States