Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Simply the best. We've made this for family and friends, they all beg for the recipe. We make the crust with whole wheat flour and it is still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Wow, I finally found the recipe for crust i was seeking. Made full recipe, froze half and put the rest in the fridge in a freezer zip bag. Took it out an hour or so before using. Toppings are irrelevant as long as you don't overload it and defeat the objective of crispy thin crust pizza. I always use parchment paper to assemble and transfer the pizza to my stone and my oven can heat it to 525, so it baked up to perfectly browned puffy edges and cooked toppings in about 8 minutes. I used some basil pesto to brush on as a sauce, chunks of roasted chicken, drained marinated artichoke hearts, freshly sliced romas and shredded mozzarella and "pizza" blend to top it, then took it out and let it rest for 5 before sprinkling some fresh basil and oregano over it. We love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
It was good, and I'll probably use again, but I like the crust thinner so maybe I make more pizzas with the same recipe next time. The crushed tomatoes were WAY too runny so while I love the concept, I'll have to try to find something else for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I'm rating this on the base alone, as I always make my own pizza sauce, but this was easily the best pizza dough I've ever made. I tried it purely out of curiosity, as I've been using a different dough recipe for years, but this was absolutely excellent - crispy on the outside, chewy on the inside. Everything a pizza base should be, as well as being much, much easier to handle at all stages than my usual dough. My new favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I can delete all the other pizza recipes I have saved because this is my new go to! This is the real deal. The crust came out as perfectly as I could have hoped since no home oven is going to produce the same as a pizzeria. It is nice and thin with a chewy edge. I liked this so well I made extra and froze it so I will always have it on hand. I added crumbled hot sausage to the toppings. Thanks, CDM68!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is one you can't take short cuts. As others have said it is great and you will be rewarded if you follow the dough recipe. It is on my regular list. I froze and extra dough and used at another time with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeeMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was really good. I used a homemade sauce and different toppings, I pretty much just used this recipe for the crust. The first pie came out too doughy, even though the cheese on the top was a little burnt. With the second pie, I put just the dough and pizza sauce in the oven for about 2.5 minutes, then took it out and added toppings, and put it back in, and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
We had a hard time getting the crust thin enough. Also, the sauce could have used a little more flavor. Overall, we enjoyed it, but we would make some changes if we were going to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Really, really great. I let the dough set for about 28 hours by mistake and it was fine. I was a little confused about the pizza peel? I just dusted the pizza stone with flower and it turned out great. The only issue was that the center of the dough didn't get quite done. Leaving it in the oven until the crust is a little dark probably would have been best. I froze the second pizza and we'll see how it turns out. Also, I'm incluned towards too much sauce and I used more like 1/2 a cup of crushed tomoatoes which was too much. So take it easy. Less is more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Good flavor and so easy to work with! Next time I will add some garlic and/or Italian Seasoning to the dough. Really good and really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Pizza on the Grill

See why conventional ovens just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Flag Pizza

See how to make the world’s most patriotic pepperoni pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States