Brian's Favorite Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
GREAT sauce, brown meat and veggies than throw it all in the crock to simmer all day....LEFTOVER SAUCE recipe= toast english muffins, add some sauce and mozzerella cheese, pop into 375 oven until cheese melts...everyone loves em'.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
Great starter sauce!! Basically, this recipe gives you a good base and then you add extras depending on your tastes. I read some of the previous reviews and used less stewed tomatoes and added a can of tomato paste. I also added red pepper flakes for a nice kick and a pinch more sugar. NOTE: You absolutely have to simmer this for 3-4 hours, minimum. I tried a taste after about an hour and was disappointed. I waited four hours later and was blown away by how much difference the simmering made. A definite winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
Excellent sauce! I made it for a family dinner and everyone loved it!! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
I make a double batch at a time of this sauce. It freezes well and seems to actually taste better when re-heated on the stove. (Not microwave.) The recipe makes a delicious sauce without many changes. I usually add meatballs when it's nearly done and omit the sausage. Sometimes I increase the ceyenne pepper for more of a bite. I've added fresh mushrooms, black olives, and fresh tomatoes. They all work well. Also it REALLY benefits from a long simmer: I simmer it on very low heat for up to three hours and the flavor is drastically improved. Excellent recipe. But give it time to cook!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
Brian, you done good. I read all the reviews for this recipe and made it yesterday in a crockpot. As with any recipe, we modify it to suit our own tastes. The result: the best I've ever made. I didn't want the fat from the meat so I made a meatless sauce. Taking others' suggestions, I doubled all the seasonings. I added 1/2+ cup of red wine, a can of tomato paste and I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes and 4 cans of tomato sauce vs. the opposite. It's the best consistency and flavor ever! Thanks. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
Thanks Marian for submitting this recipe...it really is delicious. I used hot italian sausage instead of sweet and didn't add the cayenne. I only used a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes...and still had quite a bit of sauce. I do agree with other reviewers that the longer you let this simmer the better it will taste. That is usually the case with a lot of pasta sauces. Thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
excellent sauce! i used more ground beef and 3 extra sausages. other than that the sauce is wonderful! Planning on making it again and freezing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
My husband and I love this recipe. We have followed others suggestions and let it simmer longer in a crockpot and have doubled the spices. My husband can't get enough of it and refuses to eat any other kind of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by McBacon
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Very good! We enjoyed this sauce- served it for a family dinner, everyone liked it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
Best spagetti sauce recipe ever! I substituted the sweet italian sausage for hot italian sausage for an extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States