Brian's Favorite Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
GREAT sauce, brown meat and veggies than throw it all in the crock to simmer all day....LEFTOVER SAUCE recipe= toast english muffins, add some sauce and mozzerella cheese, pop into 375 oven until cheese melts...everyone loves em'.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
Great starter sauce!! Basically, this recipe gives you a good base and then you add extras depending on your tastes. I read some of the previous reviews and used less stewed tomatoes and added a can of tomato paste. I also added red pepper flakes for a nice kick and a pinch more sugar. NOTE: You absolutely have to simmer this for 3-4 hours, minimum. I tried a taste after about an hour and was disappointed. I waited four hours later and was blown away by how much difference the simmering made. A definite winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
Excellent sauce! I made it for a family dinner and everyone loved it!! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
I make a double batch at a time of this sauce. It freezes well and seems to actually taste better when re-heated on the stove. (Not microwave.) The recipe makes a delicious sauce without many changes. I usually add meatballs when it's nearly done and omit the sausage. Sometimes I increase the ceyenne pepper for more of a bite. I've added fresh mushrooms, black olives, and fresh tomatoes. They all work well. Also it REALLY benefits from a long simmer: I simmer it on very low heat for up to three hours and the flavor is drastically improved. Excellent recipe. But give it time to cook!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
Brian, you done good. I read all the reviews for this recipe and made it yesterday in a crockpot. As with any recipe, we modify it to suit our own tastes. The result: the best I've ever made. I didn't want the fat from the meat so I made a meatless sauce. Taking others' suggestions, I doubled all the seasonings. I added 1/2+ cup of red wine, a can of tomato paste and I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes and 4 cans of tomato sauce vs. the opposite. It's the best consistency and flavor ever! Thanks. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
Thanks Marian for submitting this recipe...it really is delicious. I used hot italian sausage instead of sweet and didn't add the cayenne. I only used a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes...and still had quite a bit of sauce. I do agree with other reviewers that the longer you let this simmer the better it will taste. That is usually the case with a lot of pasta sauces. Thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
excellent sauce! i used more ground beef and 3 extra sausages. other than that the sauce is wonderful! Planning on making it again and freezing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
My husband and I love this recipe. We have followed others suggestions and let it simmer longer in a crockpot and have doubled the spices. My husband can't get enough of it and refuses to eat any other kind of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by McBacon
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Very good! We enjoyed this sauce- served it for a family dinner, everyone liked it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
Best spagetti sauce recipe ever! I substituted the sweet italian sausage for hot italian sausage for an extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States