Brian's Favorite Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 5, 2002
My husband really liked this recipe--he declared it a "keeper". Personally, I don't like Italian Sausage, so I didn't care for it too much. However, the overall flavor was good. Quite tangy at first, so I added additional spices, and it turned out great. Fed it to my husband's friends, and they liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
My husband and I love this recipe. We have followed others suggestions and let it simmer longer in a crockpot and have doubled the spices. My husband can't get enough of it and refuses to eat any other kind of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
Fabulous recipe! I added 1 green bell pepper (chopped in the food processor so my kids can't identify it), 1 package sliced mushrooms (cooked with the sausage before adding the rest of the ingredients), used tomato puree instead of sauce (that's what I had on hand) and a pinch of baking soda. After sauting the onion, garlic and sausage, I put everything into the crockpot and let it cook for the day. Wonderful! Husband, kids, inlaws, everyone raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
Excellent sauce! I made it for a family dinner and everyone loved it!! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
This is the best pasta sauce! Thank you so much for such a great recipe! I add extra Italian seasonings, extra tomato sauce and simmer it all day for a stronger flavor and we just love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
Great starter sauce!! Basically, this recipe gives you a good base and then you add extras depending on your tastes. I read some of the previous reviews and used less stewed tomatoes and added a can of tomato paste. I also added red pepper flakes for a nice kick and a pinch more sugar. NOTE: You absolutely have to simmer this for 3-4 hours, minimum. I tried a taste after about an hour and was disappointed. I waited four hours later and was blown away by how much difference the simmering made. A definite winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
This is the best sauce, it's great my 1-yr old son gives its a messy face all over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
This sauce is so so good... I could not believe how easy this was to make... To make it even better i would simmer the sause for 4-5 hours...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
This sauce was alright - It was not meaty enough for my family and it needed a little extra seasoning - I cut down on the amount of diced tomatoes and used extra tomatoe sauce instead - Also took some one elses advise and added a can of paste. It definetly made alot (froze some). I would recommend to people - you just may need to adjust it to your own pallet a little bit. rray
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theboyzmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
This recipe looked pretty good and tasted even better! I'm extremely picky when it comes to spaghetti sauce, and this one easily rates as one of the best I've ever had. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States