Brian's Favorite Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
Finally, a sauce my family likes! The recipe is easily modified. The first time I made it I used a little less sugar than the recipe called for, and also used hot sausage, and that sauce turned out equally tasty! I personally like to add a can of black olives to it as it makes for more interesting color variation. Oh, by the way...sugar is essential for a sweeter sauce, but don't overdo it here, as the sweet taste easily becomes overwhelming when you're eating a lot of this stuff at a time (which I can't help but do).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
This is a great, simple staple sauce. I'll make this one again and again. I used fresh tomato and basil in my batch and loved the outcome. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
This is just a luscious sauce! I substituted a can of stewed tomatoes, and liked the texture even better. I have also made this with mushrooms instead of the sausages for vegetarian friends, and it was a huge success!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
Very original tasting sauce. A great mix of sweet and spicy. The recipe is great just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
I made this for dinner and cooked it all day (from about 10 am to 5 pm). Delicious! I did follow everyone else and double the spices. Even my picky(self proclaimed) brother in-law said it was good. He compared it to Macaroni Grill sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
I just realized I had never rated this recipe and I have been using it forever it seems! This is a fantastic sauce recipe and a good building block to add your own ideas! I always add extra spices, a mixture of hot and sweet italian sausage, plenty of garlic, a touch of sugar and depending on the family mood - mushrooms, onions, etc. The only change I make to the original recipe is I do not use diced tomatoes, we used crushed (hubby refuses to eat sauce that has chunks of tomatoes in it). I have found that the longer this simmers the better it tastes! It's so easy to make - no more bottled sauce for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAEVYAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
This has become the only spaghetti sauce I make. When I was young, my parents often took me to a favorite Italian restaurant. This sauce tastes like that restaurant's. Even my picky father agrees that it is delicious and does indeed taste like the sauce of his favorite Italian restaurant. To me, the longer it simmers, the better the taste. Iwish I had some made right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
I make this once a month for my husband and he loves it!! As other reviewers have mentioned you must let it simmer for at least 3-4 hours. I also double the spices, add mushrooms and use Italian seasoned tomato sauce and Italian seasoned crushed tomatoes in place of the stewed tomatoes (my husband does not like chunky tomatoes in his sauce) and it comes out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
Very good sauce!!! I put mine in the crock pot. Will use this recipe often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetaddiction

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
Brian, you done good. I read all the reviews for this recipe and made it yesterday in a crockpot. As with any recipe, we modify it to suit our own tastes. The result: the best I've ever made. I didn't want the fat from the meat so I made a meatless sauce. Taking others' suggestions, I doubled all the seasonings. I added 1/2+ cup of red wine, a can of tomato paste and I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes and 4 cans of tomato sauce vs. the opposite. It's the best consistency and flavor ever! Thanks. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States