Brian's Favorite Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
I make a double batch at a time of this sauce. It freezes well and seems to actually taste better when re-heated on the stove. (Not microwave.) The recipe makes a delicious sauce without many changes. I usually add meatballs when it's nearly done and omit the sausage. Sometimes I increase the ceyenne pepper for more of a bite. I've added fresh mushrooms, black olives, and fresh tomatoes. They all work well. Also it REALLY benefits from a long simmer: I simmer it on very low heat for up to three hours and the flavor is drastically improved. Excellent recipe. But give it time to cook!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
This was a good recipe and easy to make. I added a little extra garlic and a bay leaf and my family was very happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
I was shocked at the taste of this sauce after reviewing all of the 5 star ratings. I'm always looking for a good spaghetti sauce, and I was a little leary of this one, but after reading the great reviews I figured it was worth a try. My instincts were right...I think there is too much tomatoes and not enough spices. I ended up doubling the spices and adding a can of tomato paste, and that helped a little. However, the taste just never seemed right. I used a large crock pot on low all day. It also makes a lot more than the recipe claims...my large crock pot was filled to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
My husband liked this a lot, but it wasn't my favorite. All I could taste was Italian sausage and tomatoes. I only let it simmer for about 20 minutes. Maybe that was the problem. My own sauce is much better, although I may try a quarter pound of Italian sausage in addition to ground beef in my sauce next time for a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
This is a terrific sauce. Very hearty! I added a can of tomato paste instead of the 2 cans of sauce and extra garlic as well. I also added chopped black olives. This makes a TON of sauce, but the leftover freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Van Nuys, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
A great sauce! I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
WOW!! I would give this 6 stars if I could!! This sauce was absoutely delish!! I did double the oregano, basil and cayenne pepper as some reviewers suggested. I also pureed 2 of the cans of tomatoes, only used about 1 tablespoon of the olive because thats all I found was needed and let it simmer for about an hour. It turned out perfect. The kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatarat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paragonah, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
Yum! This sauce is easy and just the thing if you're looking for a filling, hearty sauce. I've made it with the sausage and also with ground beef....both are good, although the sausage was my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
This recipe was fair - I found myself having to keep adding spices and more things to it to get it to a more delicious state. As it was, it was bland and nothing to write home about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
My husbands words: "never buy bottles sauce again!" I did double some spices and used tomato paste as well and decreased the amount of diced and sauce. And used Hot Turkey sausage. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURA82

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States