Brian's Favorite Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
So Good. Made it with hamburger instead of sausage, cooked it for 3 hours and added a little more spice along with some crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, California, USA
Living In: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Excellent recipe!!! Easy to prepare. Works well to simmer in a crock pot on low for a few hours. I make every one of my favorite Italian dishes with this recipe. It's the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
Sorry, but *my* Brian rates this 3 stars. This is due to the brand of sausage I used - Meijer's sweet Italian sausage links. This was the first time I've cooked with them, and quite honestly, they were horrible - gristly, tasteless, nasty texture. They spoiled it really. Otherwise, the taste was pretty good. I might try this again but with sausage I know we like. Thanks, anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
Great sauce! Let it simmer all day for great flavor. It does make a whole lot of sauce. I like my sauce a bit thicker. this is a somewhat watery sauce. So you may want to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
What a marvelous sauce, I love the combination of textures. It has a beautiful balance of sweetness and spiciness. Truly special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Another family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUU61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Aiea, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
My husband didn't say a word, just grunted a lot, as he inhaled a whole plate in about 30 seconds flat. (This is high praise). I added some yellow and orange peppers I had to get rid of, and it was a little sweet, so maybe I'd reduce the sugar a bit and add a few more pinches of cayenne. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
I love this recipe so much I don't even bother wasting the calories on pasta. I do make it a little thicker by draining the diced tomatoes and making up the difference with an extra can of tomatoe sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
I make a double batch at a time of this sauce. It freezes well and seems to actually taste better when re-heated on the stove. (Not microwave.) The recipe makes a delicious sauce without many changes. I usually add meatballs when it's nearly done and omit the sausage. Sometimes I increase the ceyenne pepper for more of a bite. I've added fresh mushrooms, black olives, and fresh tomatoes. They all work well. Also it REALLY benefits from a long simmer: I simmer it on very low heat for up to three hours and the flavor is drastically improved. Excellent recipe. But give it time to cook!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEVERAMSEY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Dijon Pan Sauce

See how to make a delicious mustard pan sauce for roasted pork tenderloin.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States