Brennan's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I feel a bit guilty on giving this 2 stars, but its only so i remember not to try it again. If you like* irish soda bread this is really an authentic and perfect recipe, i realized this after baking it and then trying it again later at a restaurant. However, i found out i didn't care for it personally. But it really is a pretty bread and tastes exactly like i tried at a very nice restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Great recipe! Easy and just like my grandma's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This is excellent! I liked it better with less sugar and more salt though. Also tried to waffle it, and it came out great. Very simple recipe, recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sofi K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This was ok. Maybe it's supposed to taste bland, but I wasn't impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Loved it! 1/2 an hour in a cast iron pan. Knead 3-4 times only. I just took this out of the oven 20 minutes ago and I'm heading back in to make more! Better than biscuits with less than 5 minutes prep time and fewer dishes! I used buttermilk because I have buttermilk. Next batch will be sour milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Dusenbury

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
OK First of all, I rated this 5 star even though the 45 min baking time is way too much. 30 mins is perfect. I have got to say that this bread was the easiest bread I've ever made and it is "da bomb diggity"! I should have made a lot more on St. Patty's Day! I'll be making this all the time. When its a hit with my teenage grandkids, I know its good. A total keeper, this one is. What I did to make the easiest clean up ever is that after washing my hands well, of course, I just left everything in the bowl and kneaded it with my hands. Plopped it on my greased pan and stuck it in the oven for 30 mins. A cup of buttermilk works instead of the milk and vinegar. The milk and vinegar mixture is actually the substitute for buttermilk. My mama taught me that years n years ago. OH YEAH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I followed the recipe except used real buttermilk. I took the bread out of the oven after 30 min as some suggested and was tempted into cutting into it right away. Center was not cooked, so i put it back in the oven (turned off) and let it sit in the residual heat for 5 min. Then, I let it cool on the sheet for 10 mins. It was gone 10 minutes after that! Yummy! The dough *is* soft. I used my stand mixer with the dough hook and used just the hook to mix and kneed the dough. It took about 2 min for everything to come together. Use damp hands to help shape the dough on the sheet. Oh, and I used a silpat instead of greasing the baking sheet. This is MUCH better than another soda bread I tried last week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Dough was a wet mess. Double checked my amounts with the recipe. You need to add a lot more flour or a lot less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This is the best recipe I've found. 25-30 minutes is the best baking time, and if I'm adding raisins I'll add and extra 1/2 tbsp or so to make it a tad sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Used buttermilk, but otherwise made as written. Hard chewy crust and doughy interior. Served with Guiness Corned Beef and Irish Champ, which were very good. Sorry, not sure what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States