BREAKSTONE'S Sour Cream Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Yum!! I didn't have red potatoes so used russets, shredded cheddar cheese(no Velveeta in the house either) and left out the ham to use for a side dish with my baked ham. It is delicious and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I made these for Easter. These were fantastic. I substituted cubed cheese for cheddar cheese soup, added some bacon, and added half & half. Left the ham out b/c we had a whole ham. Everyone loved them. Par boiling the potatoes definitely helps them along in the cooking process!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
My family loved this and it was easy. Be careful to cook your potatoes just right. I had some that were thicker and not quite done for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This recipe rocks! I altered it a tiny bit by using frozen hash browns and by adding broccoli. I also cut it in half and baked it in a 9X9 glass baking dish and it still turned out amazing. I only hope the left overs are as good as the initial day. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Paffel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
this recipe was awesome! i was only cooking for five so i cut the recipe in half and that was fine. Also since i was making this to go on the side of some pork chops so i left out the ham and and i substituted the the velveeta for lowfat cheddar and about a quarter stick of lowfat cream cheese i had in the fridge. It was really delicious. The whole family gobbled it up and could not believe it was lowfat. This would be really great for a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Fayette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I made this the other day for my family and it was a big hit...I added garlic salt and onion powder..it was great and will def be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I used russet potatos, light sour cream, and about 2 cups of shredded cheddar cheese instead of velveeta. I kept the green onions and parmesan cheese as the recipe said. They were pretty good, definitely worth making over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trista Yancey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wrangell, Alaska, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss J
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I tried this out for our Christmas dinner and everyone absolutely loved it. It is a keeper for sure. Also, I left out the ham as the other reviewers did, because ham was the main course of our dinner. I also broiled the top of the dish for a couple minutes at the end of the baking time to give it a little browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This was alot of work for the nto so great quality of the finished product. I was not all that impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Borger, Texas, USA
Living In: Floydada, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I'd give it 3 and 1/2 if I could. I left out the ham because I served this with chicken, but overall, it was just average in flavor. I think I like a true scalloped potato recipe better. This one is like half mashed and half scalloped. Also, cheddar cheese rather than Velveeta would have given it much more flavor and more punch. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States