BREAKSTONE'S Sour Cream Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I knew with these ingredients that I wouldn't be totally disappointed, but I wasn't WOW'd either. I made no substitutions, followed the recipe exactly as written. First, I think the ham adds nothing to this potato dish; waste of money in my opinion. Next, if I were to make this again, I would use a very sharp cheddar cheese rather than Velveeta to ramp up the flavor a little bit. The Velveeta melted beautifully, but it's just too bland for this casserole (and, yes, I do like Velveeta).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was amazing! I didn't add the ham, because we were having ham as the entree, but that's the only "change" I made. My whole family loved it, and we are planning to make it a "must have" for all of our holiday meals from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valarie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
The pototoes should have boiled much longer. The casserole should have baked longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I'm not sure what went wrong for me, but this did not turn out at all. I followed the recipe exactly but somehow ended up with undercooked potatoes and big globs of Velveeta. Waste of time and ingredients! It seems to have worked for others though, so not sure what happened!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachelD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Illesheim, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Excellent taste..my family loved this. my only recommendation would be not to mash the potatoes and boil them for about 8 min. instead of 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Following the advice and changes of the reviewers, this recipe was tasty! I used shredded cheddar instead of the Velveeta, and Russet potatoes instead of reds. I also left out the ham. While they weren't what I would call Scalloped, the mash/scalloped texture was fun, and they even tasted great reheated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Page

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This was absolutly wonderful! I cut the ham out to use as a side. If your going to do that though I would recommend garlic salt. Or even salt and pepper. The ham would probably give it some more flavor. But without it was a little bland. Other than that we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefani Ann Eaton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Sandpoint, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Quick meal! Family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Barton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This turned out very dry, not creamy as I expect scalloped potatoes to be. I thought it was odd to mix 1/4 of the potatoes into the sauce. I may try it again without mixing in the mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I really did not care for this recipe. I tried to give Breakstone a break and follow their recipe but the 'cheese food' is just overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States