BREAKSTONE'S Fruit-Filled Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I used Comstock MORE FRUIT Cherry pie filling. I like lots of fruit. Also, used two 9 in. round pans, so I could give one away. I lined the pans with waxed paper, so I could turn them out before putting the nuts and glaze on. 2nd review: I now have used a Lemon Cake mix, and lemon pie filling. Then sprinkled a generous 1 C. of thawed frozen blueberries on top. I have lots of pecans so normally use them. It turned out great!! Also, tried a jelly roll pan one time. Too much batter for that = it ran over the sides when baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Made this cake yesterday for our teachers' breakfast. I used a yellow cake mix and apple pie filling. Had to bake it 45 min. instead of the 35 as stated in the recipe. Made the icing and put it in a sandwich baggy, cut the tip off and drizzled it diagonally on the cake. It tasted wonderful and was perfect for breakfast/brunch. The presentation was beautiful too. This was the cake everyone loved and wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
WOW!! This is awesome..at least with my changes. I omitted the eggs, water and sour cream and prepared the cake as instructed on the box and then added the cinnamon. I also used a yellow cake mix and blueberry pie filling. Soooo good, I really cant tell you how great this is. Boy am I glad to have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Our son, who lives in Minneapolis, will be spending the night with us tonight as he will be on a brief business trip in Wisconsin. I wanted to have a sweet treat for him but because I am on crutches following knee surgery I am unable to cook or bake right now. Hubs is already filling in for me for dinner (he's a great cook!) but he also good-naturedly agreed to bake a simple coffee cake for me, even tho' he's never baked a thing in his life. I think he turned out a beautiful and delicious cake with this recipe! (See photos in my profile) I had him bake it in a Bundt pan rather than a 9x13, and it was perfectly baked in 50 minutes. The cake is moist and rich, even tho' there is no fat added other than the sour cream (he used full-fat). And the cinnamon does a fairly good job of masking that characteristic "cake mix taste." If a complete novice like Hubs can turn out such a beautiful and delicious cake with just a little guidance and supervision, it suggests that this is a relatively fool-proof recipe for something that deceptively seems more sophisticated. This will be a repeat, especially for "emergencies!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Made this for a covered dish. Everyone loved it. I used a lemon cake mix with blueberry filling. Will make it again soon, this time for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I want to give this 2.5 stars. This would be great for a church function where you need a dessert that is easy and fits in a pan and looks cool and doesn't cost much to make. But I wouldn't make this for a distinguished guest, because it's just not very impressive. The cake is only as good as your cake mix. A little cinnamon doesn't make a cake mix great. And a can of pie filling doesn't taste fresh no matter what you do to it. But did we eat it all? Yes. And the kids loved it, because they love cake. So, the rating depends on what kind of recipe you need. functional: 4 stars. taste: 2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I made these for Easter brunch. They were wonderful. I had to bake them longer than suggested and I used chopped pecans on top because that's all I had. I also used apples instead of cherries. It turned out great. I will make these again. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Always a hit whenever I make it. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alden, New York, USA
Living In: Williamsville, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Very good! Make sure you let it cool entirely before cutting, otherwise all the filling will quickly ooze out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I made this coffee cake with a white cake mix and strawberry pie filling. I was hoping that it would be a keeper, but... it just wasn't that good. I typically add ingredients in an attempt to make a not-so-healthy recipe healthier. I wanted everyone to enjoy this recipe, since it was made for an Easter gathering, and so I decided not to modify the recipe at all. I used strawberry pie filling because everyone loves strawberries in our family. It was moist, and it did have an interesting texture with the toasted, slivered almonds and icing topping. But the flavor was kinda bland and no one was all too impressed with this dessert. That's just us though, you may like the recipe, so don't let my review deter you from trying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rnkgerlach

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States