BREAKSTONE'S Fruit-Filled Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I made these for Easter brunch. They were wonderful. I had to bake them longer than suggested and I used chopped pecans on top because that's all I had. I also used apples instead of cherries. It turned out great. I will make these again. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I made this for the teachers at school and was doubtful. They raved that it was wonderful. I never actually tasted it but their reviews were grand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Made this cake yesterday for our teachers' breakfast. I used a yellow cake mix and apple pie filling. Had to bake it 45 min. instead of the 35 as stated in the recipe. Made the icing and put it in a sandwich baggy, cut the tip off and drizzled it diagonally on the cake. It tasted wonderful and was perfect for breakfast/brunch. The presentation was beautiful too. This was the cake everyone loved and wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I made this for a pot-luck style brunch and everyone really enjoyed it. My kids and husband enjoyed the leftovers, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chaosmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I made this coffee cake with a white cake mix and strawberry pie filling. I was hoping that it would be a keeper, but... it just wasn't that good. I typically add ingredients in an attempt to make a not-so-healthy recipe healthier. I wanted everyone to enjoy this recipe, since it was made for an Easter gathering, and so I decided not to modify the recipe at all. I used strawberry pie filling because everyone loves strawberries in our family. It was moist, and it did have an interesting texture with the toasted, slivered almonds and icing topping. But the flavor was kinda bland and no one was all too impressed with this dessert. That's just us though, you may like the recipe, so don't let my review deter you from trying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rnkgerlach

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I REALLY wanted to like this recipe, but just couldn't do it. The cake didn't look very enticing to begin with. Then, after it cooled, I put a lid on the cake pan and put it in the fridge. The next day the cake was wet and gooey. That may have nothing to do with the recipe, but it was a total turn off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I made this for a family Sunday dinner. I used blueberry pie filling and everyone loved it. It was very tasty and disappeared quickly. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I really don't know what is going on with some people! I got this same recipe out of Kraft's cookbook and I made it (I didn't put nuts on it) for my husband's friend. and they loved it! They keep talking about and was wondering when I was going to make it again. My mom taste and she hates coffeecake because some coffeecake is dry, but she loved this one. it was moist and really good. Some people just won't say that they did the recipe wrong and it didn't turn out right. This recipe is a winner in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Tucker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
My mother made this Easter weekend and I loved it. She got the same recipe from the Kraft Food Magazine and followed the instructions. I think it would have been better with lemon filling. But, this is a keeper and is extremely easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I made this tonight and it turned out very good! Instead of cherries I used a can of apple pie filling, I thought it all would of turned out better had the apples been sweeter. Over all very good and my kids love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States