BREAKSTONE'S Fruit-Filled Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Made this for a covered dish. Everyone loved it. I used a lemon cake mix with blueberry filling. Will make it again soon, this time for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Very good! Make sure you let it cool entirely before cutting, otherwise all the filling will quickly ooze out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
YUM!!! So good. I baked mine in a Bundt cake pan... layer of cake batter, layer of pie filling, layer of cake batter. Baked at 350 for about 50 minutes. Worked out very well. I topped with toasted pecans, just because that's what I had on hand. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I want to give this 2.5 stars. This would be great for a church function where you need a dessert that is easy and fits in a pan and looks cool and doesn't cost much to make. But I wouldn't make this for a distinguished guest, because it's just not very impressive. The cake is only as good as your cake mix. A little cinnamon doesn't make a cake mix great. And a can of pie filling doesn't taste fresh no matter what you do to it. But did we eat it all? Yes. And the kids loved it, because they love cake. So, the rating depends on what kind of recipe you need. functional: 4 stars. taste: 2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Fan - freakin' - tastic!! Theatre people loved this one - it's nice that you can change up the fruit options....next time: apple !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyl R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leduc, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Easy to make and it is delicous. I made the recipe as it was written. My family's favorite filling is cherry but you can decide for yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I used canned apple pie filling - awesome - rich and smooth - very nice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
just YUMMYYYYYYYYY..made this cake yesterday and couldn't believe my eyes when it came out looking like something you would buy at a bakery(told that to my son/s'where he works...lol)TO DO AGAIN for sure but i wanna experiment..different cakes with different filling..ex:chocolate and cherries would be like black forst maybe?..yellow and apples with cinnamon added to the glaze?..like the cakes we buy at local grocery bakery?...i would givew it a 10 if i could!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
The first time I made this, I followed the recipe exactly. I give it 3 1/2-4 stars as it is. It's a good "base" recipe. To make it 5 stars, I made the following modifications: I used 3 egg whites, no yolk. I added 1/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce to moisten the cake up. I also added 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp almond extract to the batter. Finally, instead of using milk for the glaze, I used lemon juice. The lemony taste compliments the sweetness of the powdered sugar. After making these modifications, I give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIreland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I used Comstock MORE FRUIT Cherry pie filling. I like lots of fruit. Also, used two 9 in. round pans, so I could give one away. I lined the pans with waxed paper, so I could turn them out before putting the nuts and glaze on. 2nd review: I now have used a Lemon Cake mix, and lemon pie filling. Then sprinkled a generous 1 C. of thawed frozen blueberries on top. I have lots of pecans so normally use them. It turned out great!! Also, tried a jelly roll pan one time. Too much batter for that = it ran over the sides when baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States