Breakfast Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I didn't make it upside down (seemed silly), but I did use all the ingredients, maybe not in the recommended quantities, but overall it was extremely tasty. I added an extra egg, the potatoes I used just barely covered the bottom of the 8x8 pan (which was plenty) and I used 8 strips of thick cut bacon. It was a lot of work and prep, but delicious and a great way to start the day in a nice neat casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
The family loved it! A very versatile dish that I will be using often. I used two medium potatoes (fried in bacon grease), left out the garlic & green pepper, added two more eggs and about 1/2 c milk. This baked up nicely in a deep glass pie pan, but next time I might give the sides of the pan a light non-stick spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Very good! I followed the advice of another reviewer and did the arrangement in opposite order so I didn't have to flip it since I didn't have parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura N.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This turned out really good. It was delicious and had a nice presentation. I did not feel like cooking the bacon so I just cut up some pre cooked turkey sausage that I had on hand. I also added a little bit of paprika to my potatoes as they were cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Refrigerated or frozen hash browns can be substituted for the baking potatoes. They make this quicker and easierr to assemble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NanaLynda
Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Megan Buchholz
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I love This Dish, It's Super Easy To Make. And It Taste Awesome. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Buchholz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I turned this into a breakfast casserole and not upside down as I didn't have a round cake pan and read all the reviews about how the yield was too big. I put it in a 9x13 rectangle pan. I can't believe they didn't tell you to add any spices or seasonings to the vegetables. I added a bit of everything to them while they cooked, and some beef broth because they were starting to get brown before it was all cooked. I threw in some cilantro and parsley too. I followed the other raters advice on making it backwards, and added more egg and milk. I used egg substitute and almond milk. We don't eat bacon at my house, so I used deli sliced turkey. I used 3 cheeses on top- feta, italian blend, and colby jack. I also cooked it at 375 for 25 minutes. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Delicious and easy to make. Added half a cup of mozzerella cheese as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I put this together last night and baked this morning. Only used two potatoes, sausage instead of bacon and skipped the garlic. Served with Sausage Balls from this site. Made an easy breakfast for this busy morning. Thanks for posting, MOTMIK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Good recipe. I made this for breakfast last week. I did modify it for out tastes I used jack cheese instead of cheddar, didn't use any bell pepper but used more onion. One thing that does need to be adressed no matter what you put into this dish is that you need to use 1-2 more eggs than the recipe calls for and an extra splash of milk if you want to have enough to coat the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Breakfast Biscuits

Load them up with bacon or sausage, eggs, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States