Breakfast Treat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2001
I copied a bunch of these casseroles to try and this has been my first so far. It was so good. My husband ate most of it on us though so I have to make it again. I only used one cup of milk and I chopped up sausage instead of the ham because I didn't have any on hand. Even my son ate it and he is extremely picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
My sister in law made this one and she did shredded cheddar cheese instead of the processed cheese and added Special K to the top just before she baked it. It was great, enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
OUTSTANDING!!! After reading reviews, made a few changes. Made homemade bread (in bread maker), buttered both sides, used shredded cheddar more eggs and milk....yum. Made it for some friends at a garage raising and it was a hit, super easy. Great with Salsa on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frankfort, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albany, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
great for a crow,and they all enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
I really did a lot of changes on this one but it was delicious. There is only hubby and I and there was still more than half left (only because I'm trying to lose weight!) I made it in an 8 x 8 glass dish, sprayed with Pam. I used 9 cocktail rounds for the bread, which fit pefectly. I doubled the cheese to 2 c. I layered that on top, then half a green pepper chopped, and half an onion, chopped, then sprinkled Bacos on top of that. I eliminated the butter entirely. I mixed the 4 eggs with only 1 c. of milk, adding 1/4 t. salt, 1/4 t. pepper and 1 t. dry mustard. I still baked it for an hour but maybe this was my mistake. The recipe said to cover and refrig overnight. I did not do this but it never said to uncover it to bake, so I left the foil on which made it a little soupy. The taste was all there though. I will try this again definitely but this time leaving it uncovered and see how it goes. With the changes I made, a definite keeper. Thanks Shari for putting me in the direction of getting this great casserole together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
I really liked this treat. My whole family ate this. I like easy tasty breakfasts because sometimes cooking everything can make a mess. This is no muss, no fuss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
I did not try her receipe but I do make one very similiar. I butter the pieces of breadtop and bottom; instead of melting the butter and then pouring it over the mixture. I would never use a processd cheese though, I usually mix a bag of shredded cheese in with the egg mixture and some chopped onion and dump that over the bread. I don't add anything but a little salt and pepper. This receipe is very easy and can be so easily altered with different cheeses or meats. It is my Easter brunch receipe, I make two of these the night before stick them in the fridge and in the morning pop them in the oven. So easy. Very good tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
400 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Easy and very good. A good make ahead dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
So easy. I had all the ingredients on hand for unexpected lunch guests. I also buttered the bread on both sides as a replacement for the melted butter. I also added pepper to taste. I only had time to refrigerate for an hour but that was long enough. Great recipe and I wouldn't hesitate to make again for guests. There were four of us eating and the whole pan was gone. I would make two pans if you have more than four guests. Thank you for this gem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breckan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
quiche-ish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Breakfast Strata

A savory strata with ham, mushrooms, peppers, and melted Cheddar.

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States