Breakfast Treat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
I did not try her receipe but I do make one very similiar. I butter the pieces of breadtop and bottom; instead of melting the butter and then pouring it over the mixture. I would never use a processd cheese though, I usually mix a bag of shredded cheese in with the egg mixture and some chopped onion and dump that over the bread. I don't add anything but a little salt and pepper. This receipe is very easy and can be so easily altered with different cheeses or meats. It is my Easter brunch receipe, I make two of these the night before stick them in the fridge and in the morning pop them in the oven. So easy. Very good tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
398 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
I really had to work on this recipe and finally got it to where my family absolutly loves it. I slice a loaf of french bread, use 6 eggs, 3 cups of milk and 2 cups of grated sharp cheddar, 1 lb of sausage (cooked and drained), 2 tabls. of fresh parsley, 1/2 teas. salt and 3/4 teas dry mustard. I buttered 9x13 dish and cover bottom with bread. Add cheese, sausage and parsley. Combine eggs, milk, salt and dry mustard. Pour over mixture. I let my sit over night in frig and bake in the morning for 1 hour. You can also add dill, onion and a few more eggs. This is a great left over dish too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
My kids said they liked this but I don't expect them to ask me to make it again. I didn't think it tasted bad, but it tasted just like the ingredients - mushy bread, ham, and processed cheese. Except for the fact that it was held in a square the eggs were undetectable (and I even added an extra one by mistake). This is not something I would serve to company. It sort of reminded me of something you would get in a school cafeteria. I doubt I will try this again. If I do I will make several changes. First, I would use a sturdier bread (french as opposed to the wheat that I used), I would substitute real cheese for processed (probably a combination of cheddar and something else), I would cut back on the milk and butter too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
My sister in law made this one and she did shredded cheddar cheese instead of the processed cheese and added Special K to the top just before she baked it. It was great, enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
OUTSTANDING!!! After reading reviews, made a few changes. Made homemade bread (in bread maker), buttered both sides, used shredded cheddar more eggs and milk....yum. Made it for some friends at a garage raising and it was a hit, super easy. Great with Salsa on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frankfort, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albany, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I only made one change and that was using 8 ounces shredded sharp cheddar cheese as I did not have processed cheese slices. We tried to like this but it just wasn't for us. We had to eat it because that was really all we had. It was very mushy in texture and really didn't have much flavor. I could see how this could be good, I suppose--maybe if you used more bread or maybe toasted it before you used it to dry it out a bit? Maybe it was the bread I used. I'm not sure. I won't be trying it again to find out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
So easy. I had all the ingredients on hand for unexpected lunch guests. I also buttered the bread on both sides as a replacement for the melted butter. I also added pepper to taste. I only had time to refrigerate for an hour but that was long enough. Great recipe and I wouldn't hesitate to make again for guests. There were four of us eating and the whole pan was gone. I would make two pans if you have more than four guests. Thank you for this gem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breckan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2001
I copied a bunch of these casseroles to try and this has been my first so far. It was so good. My husband ate most of it on us though so I have to make it again. I only used one cup of milk and I chopped up sausage instead of the ham because I didn't have any on hand. Even my son ate it and he is extremely picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
i made this for supper one day was a hit i also spinkled grated parmasion cheese on along with mixing onions galic with my egg fast and easy supper i preapared in the morning was feady that evening to bake a must try, thanks, joy kocher
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
The taste was good but the texture wasn't. I used 6 white bread slices...which were mushy no matter how long I baked it. Long after the eggs had "set," the bottom was still mush. In addition to the ham, I sauted some broccoli, mushrooms and onions and sprinkled it with the ham. Also,I added som onion and garlic powder to the egg mixrure. We ate this one but I doubt I'd make again, which is too bad b/c this was a very easy brunch recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Breakfast Strata

A savory strata with ham, mushrooms, peppers, and melted Cheddar.

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States