Breakfast Treat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
Great dish, but the directions were not complete. Ingredient lists melted butter, but the directions don't tell what to do with it. I'm not good at 'guessing' about recipes, but had to in this case. It turned out great but i'd love to know what the creator intended. Really easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2001
I copied a bunch of these casseroles to try and this has been my first so far. It was so good. My husband ate most of it on us though so I have to make it again. I only used one cup of milk and I chopped up sausage instead of the ham because I didn't have any on hand. Even my son ate it and he is extremely picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2001
My son loved this recipe, but I thought it was just ok. But I love easy and that it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
great for a crow,and they all enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I changed this recipe a little. Instead of using ham I used sliced sausage links and instead of american cheese I used provolone cheese. I put garlic powder, onion powder, and italian seasonings with the eggs. It came out really good and the cheese melted better than the american cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
The taste was good but the texture wasn't. I used 6 white bread slices...which were mushy no matter how long I baked it. Long after the eggs had "set," the bottom was still mush. In addition to the ham, I sauted some broccoli, mushrooms and onions and sprinkled it with the ham. Also,I added som onion and garlic powder to the egg mixrure. We ate this one but I doubt I'd make again, which is too bad b/c this was a very easy brunch recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
This turned out really tasty when we first made it but the leftovers did not hold up quite as well. I used the Ironkids Crustless bread (1 WW point for 2 slices) and muenster cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
I really had to work on this recipe and finally got it to where my family absolutly loves it. I slice a loaf of french bread, use 6 eggs, 3 cups of milk and 2 cups of grated sharp cheddar, 1 lb of sausage (cooked and drained), 2 tabls. of fresh parsley, 1/2 teas. salt and 3/4 teas dry mustard. I buttered 9x13 dish and cover bottom with bread. Add cheese, sausage and parsley. Combine eggs, milk, salt and dry mustard. Pour over mixture. I let my sit over night in frig and bake in the morning for 1 hour. You can also add dill, onion and a few more eggs. This is a great left over dish too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
270 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
I really did a lot of changes on this one but it was delicious. There is only hubby and I and there was still more than half left (only because I'm trying to lose weight!) I made it in an 8 x 8 glass dish, sprayed with Pam. I used 9 cocktail rounds for the bread, which fit pefectly. I doubled the cheese to 2 c. I layered that on top, then half a green pepper chopped, and half an onion, chopped, then sprinkled Bacos on top of that. I eliminated the butter entirely. I mixed the 4 eggs with only 1 c. of milk, adding 1/4 t. salt, 1/4 t. pepper and 1 t. dry mustard. I still baked it for an hour but maybe this was my mistake. The recipe said to cover and refrig overnight. I did not do this but it never said to uncover it to bake, so I left the foil on which made it a little soupy. The taste was all there though. I will try this again definitely but this time leaving it uncovered and see how it goes. With the changes I made, a definite keeper. Thanks Shari for putting me in the direction of getting this great casserole together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
used breakfast sausages, cooked and cut up, instead of ham and used grated marble cheese, instead of processed cheese. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Breakfast Strata

A savory strata with ham, mushrooms, peppers, and melted Cheddar.

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States