Breakfast Treat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I used real shredded cheese and added some cream into the eggmixture - about a half a cup. I put in some green onions and covered the top with shredded cheese, cover with foil and cooked for 45mins then uncovered and cooked another 20mins until browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tehanipetcel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Terrace, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I substituted cheddar for the processed cheese, and changed the ratios of the ingredients per slice of bread as follows: 1 slice (about 3/4 oz) cheese, 4 Tbsp diced ham, 1 tsp butter, 1 egg, 1/4 cup milk, 1/8 tsp salt, 1/8 tsp dry mustard. Instead of pouring melted butter over the ham, I started by buttering one side of the bread and placing it buttered-side down in an ungreased pan. I then added the cheese, ham, and egg mixture. I baked at 350F for around 45 minutes. My modified version of the recipe has half as much milk per egg as in the original recipe, and this set nicely without the mushiness some other reviewers have commented on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I make this with six eggs and no butter and add 1 TBL dried minced onion to the egg mixture. Also add s & p.The last 10 min. I sprinkle cheddar cheese on top. If yours is mushy you didn't bake it long enough. If I don't make this every Easter morning, I'll be locked out of the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I only made one change and that was using 8 ounces shredded sharp cheddar cheese as I did not have processed cheese slices. We tried to like this but it just wasn't for us. We had to eat it because that was really all we had. It was very mushy in texture and really didn't have much flavor. I could see how this could be good, I suppose--maybe if you used more bread or maybe toasted it before you used it to dry it out a bit? Maybe it was the bread I used. I'm not sure. I won't be trying it again to find out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
My husband proclaimed this "the best egg bake thing" he ever ate. I made two changes to the recipe: the first was to butter both sides of the bread instead of melting the butter, and the second was to add some diced sweet red bell pepper. Otherwise I followed the recipe, possibly adding a few minutes to the baking time (forgot to set the timer - oops!) The bread toasted up nicely on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
quiche-ish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
OUTSTANDING!!! After reading reviews, made a few changes. Made homemade bread (in bread maker), buttered both sides, used shredded cheddar more eggs and milk....yum. Made it for some friends at a garage raising and it was a hit, super easy. Great with Salsa on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frankfort, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albany, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
So easy. I had all the ingredients on hand for unexpected lunch guests. I also buttered the bread on both sides as a replacement for the melted butter. I also added pepper to taste. I only had time to refrigerate for an hour but that was long enough. Great recipe and I wouldn't hesitate to make again for guests. There were four of us eating and the whole pan was gone. I would make two pans if you have more than four guests. Thank you for this gem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breckan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I wanted to make this but had no bread, so I rolled out some refrigerator biscuits and lined the bottom of the dish. Bake the biscuits about halfway then layer on other ingredients. Also I used sausage, instead of ham, and added red pepper and onion with the meat layer. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
i made this for supper one day was a hit i also spinkled grated parmasion cheese on along with mixing onions galic with my egg fast and easy supper i preapared in the morning was feady that evening to bake a must try, thanks, joy kocher
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Breakfast Strata

A savory strata with ham, mushrooms, peppers, and melted Cheddar.

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States