Breakfast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I made this recipe for family brunch on Thanksgiving morning. I assembled everything the night before so all I had to do was take the dish from refrigerator to oven the morning of-- a great time saver. Everyone loved it, even my niece who is not a fan of eggs, had 2 helpings. The only note I would make is I think the amounts of mustard powder & butter are transposed. I used 2 tsp of mustard powder (Not 2 TBL ) & 2 TBL of butter (not 2 tsp). I also cut the milk to 2 1/2 cups. Will definitely make this again. Probably at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Tasty strata. I found for me there was not nearly enough egg. I used 1 1/2 times what recipe called for and I think next time I'll double. I adjusted the seasonings to compensate and used a mixed Mexican cheese and homemade turkey sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Very good, I omitted the ham but used more sausage and added fried cherry tomatoes for color. It could also use more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Made this for a club event and everyone loved it! I would recommend cutting back on the amount of milk used if you prefer more egg vs a custard like texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
My husband loved it. It came out well after 70 minutes in my oven. I used an 8 ounce French bread. Thanks for the recipe! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatsREALfood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogersville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I made this last week as a rehearsal for Christmas morning, unfortunately we thought it was just ok. We found it to be way too bland for our taste, even though I added extra salt, pepper and some paprika. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Delish! I used 12 eggs instead of 8. Cut up about 3/4 of a day old baguette. Didn't have spinach. Used frozen precooked sausages, cut up then microwaved (not sure if that was necessary). Cooked one med chopped onion with the mushrooms. Forgot the flour. Also forgot to grease the dish! Remembered it in the morning before baking thank goodness. Greased a second dish and slid everything in from the first. Turned out GREAT!! Fam loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by STARNETSA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made this exactly by the recipe. Simple and easy, actually fun, to make. I will make this again and tweak it with adding other veggies. It was great as is. Hubby loved it too! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Took this to work for our Christmas luncheon and everyone loved it. I was asked for the recipe by several people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Breakfast Strata

A savory strata with ham, mushrooms, peppers, and melted Cheddar.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Best Breakfast Strata

See how to make the perfect brunch dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States