Breakfast Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Like other reviewers, I was in search of a recipe to make breakfast sausage since I cannot have many of the additives (mostly MSG) in commercially-prepared sausage. We moved and I could no longer find sausage without additives. Even if you *can* eat commercial sausage, DON'T - make this and you'll never make anything else!!! I used 1/2 ground pork and 1/2 fresh ground turkey (better texture than frozen). This cuts the fat content, and it's still so great! I made the recipe as stated, but next time I'll cut down on the sage and increase the red pepper to our own liking. My family doesn't want to eat anything else now! The first Sunday I cooked the sausage for breakfast, my husband said he just kept thinking about how good it was all during church service! If you haven't tried Lee Fogle's Italian Sausage recipe - YOU MUST! It's also fantastic! THANK YOU!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
450 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
Have been fumbling around for the best sausage recipe. Wow! Just made this recipe and tried some left over scraps. Substituted 1 1/2 tsp fennel seed for the clove (which I did not have). Rolled the sausage out to about 3/8" between two layers of waxed paper and plastic wrap (to protect my wooden roller). Cut out rounds with a three inch biscuit cutter. Reroll and cut out until only a few scraps are left. It made 18 rounds with some scraps for tasting. Oh Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
This recipe was soo easy and tasted pretty good! I didn't have marjoram or cloves and all I had was some ground sage and the Italian Spices (which contained a bit of rosemary, marjoram, sage etc) So I improved with 1 1/2 tsp of ground sage and 1 tsp of the Italian Spices. I thought it was a bit too sweet (even though I like sweet sausages). Although I think that the sausage tastes better after a few days in the freezer then cooked. I definitely recommend this recipe but I'd give it a 2-3 days in the freezer to set (just make sure to make it into patties before you freeze it, makes a better of a time than defrosing a hunk of meat.) But overall Great recipe Lee! Thank you very much for sharing it ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Very tasty recipe. I substituted ground pork for 1 pound of ground turkey breast and 1 pound of ground turkey thigh for a lower fat version of breakfast sausage. I also doubled the sage. When making patties wet, hands with water to prevent it from sticking to your hands. This recipe yielded 20 patties for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2002
This recipe can't be beat. It's so tasty and easy to make that I'll probably never buy store-bought sausage again--especially since you don't know what 'by-products' are in there. This recipe is the real thing! You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
We ran out of breakfast sausage and wated to make biscuits and gravy. I found this recipe and it made a wonderful sausage, and in turn, a great gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This is the perfect blend of spices for breakfast sausage! I just made my first batch and it is the best I ever had! I ground my own pork, turkey and even threw in some beef scraps. If you use turkey or chicken be sure your pork is fatty. If you don't have enough fat in sausage it is dry & tastless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nyteez.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Forest Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
I loved this recipe although if you use lean ground pork then be careful not to burn the patties! Even my husband liked it and he's harder to please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
This is the most delicious sausage I have ever tasted. My husband loves spicy foods so I will be experimenting with other herbs, such as thai basil, lemon balm, dill seed, rosemary and tarragon all of which I grow. Ena
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portsmouth, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
Very good spicy sausage although a bit sweet for me. I cut brown sugar to 1 teaspoon. Maybe too spicy for kids or those with sensitive palate. I used this recipe for ground pork from a wild hog. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Chef John's Breakfast Sausage Patties

The best way to wake up! See how to make simple homemade breakfast sausage.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States