Breakfast Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
My husband loved these. It was my first attempt and I followed the recipe as written. Next time, I'll cut the recipe in 1/2 but this recipe is a keeper. It was very easy to put together. The only problem I had was it said to cook 5 minutes on each side. I almost burned them. I'll adjust the next time I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I made this wonderful recipe exactly as is (using regular minced pork not the low fat pork) and no digestion issues! These are without doubt the tastiest sausages I've ever had. It's so quick, cheap and easy too. I formed them into short fat fingers and wrapped half of the batch in streaky bacon then put them on the BBQ and brushed them with plum sauce...YUM - I'll never buy sausages again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I've been buying bulk sausage links from a wholesaler thinking I would try to get my family to eat better. Well, as my bacon loving daughter and husband would rather have bacon over sausage, my efforts to eat a tad bit healthier have avoided me. I thought I would give this a try in hopes that they might jump on the band wagon. I think it worked! I wasn't sure how straight turkey would work, so after reading other reviews and seeing other people use straight turkey, I decided to give this a whirl. I took 20 sausage links and removed them from the casings, (a little labor intensive, but I had some time to kill, I need to look into buying ground turkey in bulk without the casings) added all the seasonings to the turkey and mixed well. I didn't have marjoram and saw that another viewer used Italian seasoning, so that is what I used. I didn't add quite 1TBSP of brown sugar, but I think I will next time. I did add the 1/8 tsp red pepper flakes and I think I might just throw in a pinch next time. It was a little spicy, but it was still good (dipped in a little syrup from the French toast, and it was heaven on my fork). I didn't let it sit overnight, but I will next time. Very good recipe, I will be making this from now on for my breakfast sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is a great recipe! I wanted to stop eating packaged sausage (even though it is delicious) because I felt like corn syrup, sugar, and MSG weren't really necessary. I used 95% lean ground pork so they were a little dry, but still very flavorful and I felt good about eating them. I didn't have marjoram so I used oregano and thyme. I also doubled the amount of red chili flakes because I like it hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I made these last night and loved them. I used chicken it was low in fat so I fried them in butter. very yummy! I also put in twice as much of all the spices because chicken has a lot less flavor than pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Farrah Meadows
Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Londrina, Paraná, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Also excellent with rosemary instead of sage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Made it per recipe. I'm not a professional cook but this was easy. Bought 2.5lbs of lean pork for $5.00 and a couple other ingredients I didn't have. Mix it up and in a few short minutes I had some very good sausage. Cooked some scrambled eggs and with toast. That was dinner. I love to BBQ and I make my own seasoning and when I saw this recipe I had to try it. You can't go wrong with this. Enjoy. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I am and American living in Canada. The breakfast sausage up here is bland to me. Thank you so much for posting this recipe. I have also used ground chicken to make this recipe. It turned out OK. I mix my spices like it says but I throw my pork into my kitchen aid mixer with the dough hook attached and mix it on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamera Dykes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
A spectacular alternative to prepackaged sausage. I use 1.3 lbs Jenny-O Lean (93%) ground turkey and the same amount of spices, except only half the salt the recipe calls for. Also can be made with the addition of fennel and ground ginger. You won't miss the fat and additives from the store bought sausage. This is a much healthier and just as tasty option for breakfast sausage and any other recipes that call for sausage. I make it several times a week and its guilt free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I like to make all my sausage with Turkey, because I don't eat pork.I have been on the look out for the perfect "breakfast sausage". Like a lot of people, I don't like "natural flavors, and added preservatives" in commercial turkey sausages. So after many a recipe;I stumbled across this one. Getting the taste just right is always a challenge when working with ground turkey. But this recipe is a total keeper!!!! I can't wait to serve it this weekend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Chef John's Breakfast Sausage Patties

The best way to wake up! See how to make simple homemade breakfast sausage.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States