Breakfast Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Being a Georgia girl transplanted to Northern Ontario, I have been in a 10 year search for good breakfast sausage like I could get back home. I will search no more! I left out the sugar and cloves, because I don`t like sweet sausage and this was perfect without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STREEVES1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I made this recipe up last Saturday and tried it for Su nday brunch. AWESOME! The second batch I reduced the salt about 25%. Double AWESOME!! This recipe suits my taste perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Syd
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Loved it! The only thing I did different was add 1 egg and a tbsp of fennel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Absolutely delicious. Great flavor and made without all the garbage they put into store-bought sausage. I definitely think you get better results if you let the raw sausage mixture sit in the fridge at least overnight to let the flavors integrate. If I were to change anything, I would amp up the sage. I'll use this recipe every time I make sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
My husband loved these. It was my first attempt and I followed the recipe as written. Next time, I'll cut the recipe in 1/2 but this recipe is a keeper. It was very easy to put together. The only problem I had was it said to cook 5 minutes on each side. I almost burned them. I'll adjust the next time I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I made this wonderful recipe exactly as is (using regular minced pork not the low fat pork) and no digestion issues! These are without doubt the tastiest sausages I've ever had. It's so quick, cheap and easy too. I formed them into short fat fingers and wrapped half of the batch in streaky bacon then put them on the BBQ and brushed them with plum sauce...YUM - I'll never buy sausages again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I've been buying bulk sausage links from a wholesaler thinking I would try to get my family to eat better. Well, as my bacon loving daughter and husband would rather have bacon over sausage, my efforts to eat a tad bit healthier have avoided me. I thought I would give this a try in hopes that they might jump on the band wagon. I think it worked! I wasn't sure how straight turkey would work, so after reading other reviews and seeing other people use straight turkey, I decided to give this a whirl. I took 20 sausage links and removed them from the casings, (a little labor intensive, but I had some time to kill, I need to look into buying ground turkey in bulk without the casings) added all the seasonings to the turkey and mixed well. I didn't have marjoram and saw that another viewer used Italian seasoning, so that is what I used. I didn't add quite 1TBSP of brown sugar, but I think I will next time. I did add the 1/8 tsp red pepper flakes and I think I might just throw in a pinch next time. It was a little spicy, but it was still good (dipped in a little syrup from the French toast, and it was heaven on my fork). I didn't let it sit overnight, but I will next time. Very good recipe, I will be making this from now on for my breakfast sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is a great recipe! I wanted to stop eating packaged sausage (even though it is delicious) because I felt like corn syrup, sugar, and MSG weren't really necessary. I used 95% lean ground pork so they were a little dry, but still very flavorful and I felt good about eating them. I didn't have marjoram so I used oregano and thyme. I also doubled the amount of red chili flakes because I like it hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I made these last night and loved them. I used chicken it was low in fat so I fried them in butter. very yummy! I also put in twice as much of all the spices because chicken has a lot less flavor than pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Farrah
Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Londrina, Paraná, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Also excellent with rosemary instead of sage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Chef John's Breakfast Sausage Patties

The best way to wake up! See how to make simple homemade breakfast sausage.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States