Breakfast Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This recipe was so good. I can't wait to make it again. I love sausage but you never know what's really in it. With this I know exactly what I'm eating. The only thing I might do differently next time is reduce the amount of salt. Other than that it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
We had butts on sale brought home and grinder and added spices used honey for the brown sugar wrapped in wax paper rolls put in fridge to let flavor inhance the meat and harden slice and cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I really liked this recipe. Easy to make and msg free. However I found that the level of spices suggested was not nearly adequate to achieve good flavor for 2 pounds of ground pork. On my second try I basically doubled the amount of suggested spice and it is now very good, It will need a little fine tuning (a little less than double salt...)but I will use the recipe for breakfast sausage from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Overall a nice recipe. It is too salty for my tastes so I will reduce the salt to 1 1/2 tsp if I make it again. Will also increase the herbs and spices a bit to compensate for the reduction in salt. It is so nice to be able to have sausage without nitrites or other unhealthy ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
whoa! i had very low expectations and did not believe the hype of the other reviewers at all. this was my first try every making breakfast patties and it was incredible! my husband was blown away :). he wants me to use this same recipe for our hamburgers now, too. a keeper for sure! so easy to make ahead, i will be making a big batch of this to freeze at least once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel.castlen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I was tired of frozen salty breakfast sausages, the taste is not altogether pleasant. I tried this by halving the recipe, I did not want to potentially risk wasting two pounds of ground pork. My daughter and I love this recipe. I will pass it along to my friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
DOUBLE THE RECIPE AND FREEZE. I am a very fussy eater, so I usually buy homemade sausage from the butcher, which can be quite pricey (but worth it - I don't skimp on food quality!). I like this recipe because it gives me the quality that I insist on, and yet it is ridiculously inexpensive to make (especially compared to what I am used to paying for sausage). I have made this recipe at least a dozen times, and I like to double the recipe and freeze portions of it so that it is ready-made for a quick weekend breakfast. I also like to make thin meat patties from the mixture using a restaurant-style burger press. This is a recipe that I will keep for life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Very good flavor in this sausage. My kids fought over the last patty! I made this with ground turkey and added a little dried thyme with the other seasonings. Didn't have any brown sugar, so I used agave nectar instead -- if you like maple-flavored sausage, you could easily substitute maple syrup as well. I found the patties difficult to flip, because they tried to break apart. Maybe due to the substitution of liquid sweetener or because I made the patties so thin to make them a larger diameter for breakfast sandwiches. Might try using a bit of egg or milk and oatmeal as a binder next time. Will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lamont, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Have you checked the ingredient label on breakfast sausage lately? It is almost impossible to find breakfast sausage without msg. This recipe brought sausage I can be proud of into the house. I make a full 2 lb batch at a time and bag it separately to freeze until we need it. I also will occasionally cook some patties lightly and freeze them in batches for "brown and serve". My family loves it and I love knowing everything that is in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This was my first attempt to make breakfast sausage. I followed the directions but left out the brown sugar. I have eaten commercially made brown sugar sausage and find it a bit too sweet. I used a very fatty pork shoulder but left out some of the fat. That might have been a mistake. My sausages were a bit rubbery. I think more fat would be the answer. The taste was fine but a bit bland. I think when I make this again, and I will, I will increase the sage and red pepper flakes. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Pine River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Chef John's Breakfast Sausage Patties

The best way to wake up! See how to make simple homemade breakfast sausage.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States