Breakfast Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Excellent made with TVP instead of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarlei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I didn't exactly follow this recipe, b/c I just don't. BUT I got a great understanding of which herbs to use & the reviews showed me that people can make their own sausage for real. They came out really good, missing a little something, but I'm not sure what. Also I should have added more salt - but it's not the recipe's fault, I didn't measue. Here's what I did.. I used about a pound of chicken thighs, I skinned and boned them and threw them into the food processor until they were pretty mushy. I added ABOUT a teaspoon of salt and pepper, some sage - fresh from the garden - I put about 6 leaves finely shopped, marjoram (dried - I'll have to grow this stuff next year - the dry seemed almost flavorless, but I bet fresh is powerful. I'll probably have to add less of it fresh...) I added what I thought was about 1/8 tsp of the peppers, and I went heavy on the cloves. I used 2tsp granulated brown sugar b/c that's what I had and about 2-3 tsp of honey. I mixed it all in the food processor. I fried some of the first run right away (no need to add oil to the pan, these babies were NOT dry like I worried they'd be.) Then I adjusted the mixture to add the honey and more cloves. If you fry up a tiny bit at a time, you can adjust the recipe to get it just the way you want. I can't thank the poster enough. I'm no longer handcuffed to those expensive chicke sausages that are SOMEtimes in the market! Next time, I'll to add maple syrup, and shred edapples for another batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carress

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Excellent! Only one change I would make is to use less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I make this using 1 third pork shoulder 2 thirds venison love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Love this! I used ground turkey and doubled the spices. Taste just like sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
My kids love breakfast sausage but so many of the commercial sausages are full of stuff I can't pronounce. This is sausage like my grandma used to make, meat and spices. I had no idea it was so easy to make. Thanks so much for the great recipe! Since the kids don't like too much spice I will omit the red pepper next time but they still liked it as is until they hit a red pepper flake. This really is easy to make and tastier than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This had a good flavor, but I'm not sure it's worth it unless you have a problem with additives. Mine were a light color, as compared to supermarket, and seemed to be a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I love breakfast sausage jimmy dean was my favorite untill i made this sausage.This recipe is so easy to make as i make 7 to 8 lbs at a time and freeze in 1 lbs bags.Try it and you will never buy store sausage again.I do not put the cloves in as i do not like cloves and it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
WONDERFUL!! I followed the directions exactly then ran into a problem when I discovered I had NO dried sage! I did have fresh sage so I finely minced that up instead. It came out fantastic and so full of flavor. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Excellent and easy! I may never use store bought sausage again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Chef John's Breakfast Sausage Patties

The best way to wake up! See how to make simple homemade breakfast sausage.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States