Breakfast Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Reduced sugar to 1 1/2 tsp based on previous reviews. Also omitted the red pepper flakes for the kiddos. Entire family of 5 loves it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
This was my first time making sausage patties and they were delicious. Tasted better than prepared sausage with none of the chemicals. The only thing I changed was I added slightly more brown sugar and less crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Delicious! The whole family loves it. We use ground turkey instead if pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Very good! I used pork shoulder, but trimmed it pretty well. I used the sugar, but after trying it, I would omit it next time. I would also perfer it with more sage. Letting it sit also makes a big difference. Either way....much better than store bought! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
What caught my eye was the brown sugar and plenty of it. I like mine a little spicy and to add the pepper and the black pepper, look out. I use my own pepper seeds so I am sure that this is a little spicy than store bought pepper flakes. Since I do not keep ground cloves on hand I broke out my mortar and pestle to ground up the whole cloves which I always have. I will keep this one just in case I purchase bulk sausage again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
First time I made this sausage, I followed the recipe (almost) to the letter, and matched Jimmy Dean's flavor! This recipe is easy, fast and predictably delicious. One change: I crumbled and froze the sausage, so I could toss a handful into a frying pan, followed by eggs with hot cherry peppers. Added a cherry tomato on the side and a small glass of heavy cream, and I was nearly in low carb heaven. Second pass, I replaced brown sugar with "Sugar Twin Granulated Brown" (a zero carb, zero calorie saccharin mix). Now THAT's low carb heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This is the best! I cold smoked it with Apple wood for 1/2 hour before wrapping it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Waaaaay too strong. I don't know if it was too much salt or what, but it really rubbed me the wrong way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi Danny Klous

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I really liked this recipe... Very easy to make... Mine turned out a little salty but can decrease the salt next time... I did add a little fennel seed to mine as well... I will for sure make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I was skeptical that the seasonings on this recipe would be either much too mild to make the grind taste like anything other than ground pork or too sweet but this is a fantastic balance. I made it as is scaling up the recipe with my own ground pork grind (5lbs ground butt, 1 lb pork fat trimmings about 3/4 cups chopped fatty raw bacon.) I gave the meat and fat a grind together, mixed these spices in, then gave it another grind all using my coursest filter. The sausage is fantastic. Slightly sweet and well spiced I would call it a mild breakfast sausage with great flavor. If you wanted to up the heat I would increase the red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Chef John's Breakfast Sausage Patties

The best way to wake up! See how to make simple homemade breakfast sausage.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States