Breakfast Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I was tired of frozen salty breakfast sausages, the taste is not altogether pleasant. I tried this by halving the recipe, I did not want to potentially risk wasting two pounds of ground pork. My daughter and I love this recipe. I will pass it along to my friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
DOUBLE THE RECIPE AND FREEZE. I am a very fussy eater, so I usually buy homemade sausage from the butcher, which can be quite pricey (but worth it - I don't skimp on food quality!). I like this recipe because it gives me the quality that I insist on, and yet it is ridiculously inexpensive to make (especially compared to what I am used to paying for sausage). I have made this recipe at least a dozen times, and I like to double the recipe and freeze portions of it so that it is ready-made for a quick weekend breakfast. I also like to make thin meat patties from the mixture using a restaurant-style burger press. This is a recipe that I will keep for life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Very good flavor in this sausage. My kids fought over the last patty! I made this with ground turkey and added a little dried thyme with the other seasonings. Didn't have any brown sugar, so I used agave nectar instead -- if you like maple-flavored sausage, you could easily substitute maple syrup as well. I found the patties difficult to flip, because they tried to break apart. Maybe due to the substitution of liquid sweetener or because I made the patties so thin to make them a larger diameter for breakfast sandwiches. Might try using a bit of egg or milk and oatmeal as a binder next time. Will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lamont, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Have you checked the ingredient label on breakfast sausage lately? It is almost impossible to find breakfast sausage without msg. This recipe brought sausage I can be proud of into the house. I make a full 2 lb batch at a time and bag it separately to freeze until we need it. I also will occasionally cook some patties lightly and freeze them in batches for "brown and serve". My family loves it and I love knowing everything that is in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This was my first attempt to make breakfast sausage. I followed the directions but left out the brown sugar. I have eaten commercially made brown sugar sausage and find it a bit too sweet. I used a very fatty pork shoulder but left out some of the fat. That might have been a mistake. My sausages were a bit rubbery. I think more fat would be the answer. The taste was fine but a bit bland. I think when I make this again, and I will, I will increase the sage and red pepper flakes. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Pine River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Made it exactly as written, except I was out of marjoram so I substituted oregano. It has a hint of spiciness because of the red pepper flakes but it's not too much as long as you mix it in evenly. I'll make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Just made the sausage, the flavor was perfect! I didn't make patties, I wanted crumbles for a breakfast casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Best sausage recipe we have found! We raise and eat our own pigs so I've been looking for a good recipe & this is it. I added 1T of Maple syrup. We are putting this in with our other recipes to use daily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassi Lynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Made exactly as directed except used 1/2 fresh ground turkey. The spices are just to our taste, with a very nice zing! Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Great Elk sausage! My dad and I decided to make elk sausage this year instead of having just stew meat. After endless attempts of finding an "elk specific" recipe that whet my palette, I decided to just go generic on the breakfast sausage. After reading all the reviews, I decided on this one... and wow! We weren't disappointed. Obviously because we were using wild game, we had to adjust the recipe. Here's what we did: Roughly 10 lbs of freshly trimmed elk meat, chilled 2 lbs pork shoulder 1 lbs pork back fat 2/3 cup sage 1/3 cup kosher salt (cut the ratio in half to the above recipe) 1/3 cup black pepper 1/12 of a cup marjoram 1 cup of sugar (cut the ratio in half to the above recipe) 1/6 cup of red pepper flakes A good sized pinch (probably 2 teaspoons of cloves) Ground the elk and the pork separately, then mixed all the seasonings and meat by hand in a large vat. We fried up a bit to make sure we weren't wrapping up 12+ pounds of unappetizing meat and were both very surprised! I think my dad liked it more than me... I would probably add a little more salt and a touch more red pepper flakes, but that's just may palette. Other than that, great recipe and I will definitely be using this recipe again! P.S. I like the idea of substituting cloves with anise seed. If I do that in the future, I'll be sure to let you guys know! Happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dylan Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 403) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Chef John's Breakfast Sausage Patties

The best way to wake up! See how to make simple homemade breakfast sausage.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States