Breakfast Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I really like this recipe. I am giving it four stars because I needed to make some adjustments for my taste. I do not use the marjoram basically because I do not care for that spice and do not keep it in my pantry. I at least double the sage because we really like it better with more sage. I also add at least one teaspoon of fennel and a little more sugar. I use this recipe when I make sausage gravy and everyone says it's the best sausage gravy they have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I don't even like sausage but I loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Great seasoning and so easy! I substituted 2 lbs. of ground chicken for the pork. I thought I could cut back on the salt, so I only used 1 1/2 teaspoons, but next time I will use the full 2 tsps. I also used 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes, next time I will use a full tsp because I like spicy sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Very Nice! Can play with seasonings... I didn't put all salt in as it seemed too much... same with the pepper. I added onion powder in place if some of the sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This review is partially based upon my family's feedback and rating since they are the ones who ate these breakfast sausages. I just seasoned and cooked them this morning. I used a pound of ground turkey as it was what I had on hand at the time. I added fresh minced sage, hawaiian sea salt, black pepper, marjoram, brown sugar, 1 garlic clove, dash of red pepper and fennel seeds. I did not have any ground cloves. I seasoned the meat and rolled it between two layers of wax paper into a nice log. I wet my hands so the meat wouldn't stick. I sliced out each patties close to 1 inch thickness and into small round circles. The size of each sausage fit right in the palm of my hands. I had about 12 small round patties. I wrapped and placed the patties into the refrigerator and let it marry overnight. This morning I fried up the sausages on one side until I saw a nice brown sear and then I flipped it over to brown the other side. The wonderful smell of the sausages was enough to make my family peer into the kitchen to see what I was cooking on the stove. They gobbled the sausages up saying that it was delicious! In his exact words my hubby said, "The sausages are perfectly seasoned and tastes Ono (delicious)." He ate 6 patties all to himself! I served these breakfast sausages along with, "Fluffy Biscuits," also from this website. The biscuits, by the way, are FLUFFY and delicious! The sausages paired perfectly with the fluffy biscuits and eggs for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This recipe was great! It tastes fabulous, has less additives, and is less expensive than packaged sausage. What's not to love!?!?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I bought some pork and put it through my food processor. Then added all the ingredients and let the machine blend it up. THIS IS THE BEST SAUSAGE WE HAVE EVER EATEN! Ever!! Thank you. No more sausage with all the chemicals in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Pretty good but a little too salty for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I've made this twice now and enjoy this mild sausage recipe. I did not have marjoram so I subbed thyme. I will use this often and am so glad you shared this recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Have made this twice now. I use 80/20 ground pork as we found the 85/15 a little too dry. If you want to use it to make sausage and gravy, use 75/25 or 70/30 if you can find it. Otherwise you will need to add oil to the pan to make gravy. The only changes I make is leaving out the brown sugar (we do not like sweet sausage)and putting in half as much salt as recommended. To be sure that the spices are evenly mixed, I sprinlkle a small amount of the spice mix on the top of the pork, turn the pork over, sprinkle a little more, and then mix it with my hands. I repeat this two or three times. Comes out perfectly blended. I make it into sausage patties (6 per pound) and put them in the freezer for at least a day or two to let the flavors meld. Everyone likes this. A good recipe for people with food allergies as you know exactly what is in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Chef John's Breakfast Sausage Patties

The best way to wake up! See how to make simple homemade breakfast sausage.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States