Breakfast Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Thank you, Lee Fogle, for a top notch sausage recipe. I've been searching for a recipe that reminded me of the sausage my father-in-law used to make on the farm and this is pretty close....regardless, it taste great! I made exactly to recipe using a combo of dried and fresh sage. I look forward to trying your Italian Style Sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I don't get breakfast sausage where I live. This is the best recipe I have found! I'd make it even if I could buy it. It is not that much more work to mix the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
A great recipe that I have used again and again. I have used the recipe as is and I have changed it a bit and it's good every time. I have recently begun using 1 lb. ground pork and 1 lb. ground turkey and added 1/2 tsp of maple flavoring. We have pancakes or waffles EVERY weekend and this sausage stands up alongside my sweet potato pancakes / waffles with grits and brown sugar bacon. I can hardly wait for Saturday morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Harvest, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Made as is and super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael<3Sarah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Absolutely phenomenal!!!! I love this sausage!! Even my healthy low-fat version, with low-fat pork tenderloin that I ground up myself. I put this in a sausage egg muffin and it was heaven!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mistandfog
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I will never buy breakfast sausage again! This recipe is so darn easy and so incredibly tasty, I don't know why anyone would buy breakfast sausage when they could just make it for themselves. Normally, I do not like breakfast sausage at all because it's full of gristle and fat and always has a weird, indescribable flavor component that reminds me that I'm probably eating leftover "parts," but I needed breakfast sausage for a recipe. I love this recipe because it gave me total control over what cuts we were eating and I was able to season to my family's tastes. In this case, I followed the recipes exactly except for the marjoram, which I didn't have. I did a quick internet search for substitutions and replaced the 1/4 teaspoon of marjoram with a pinch each of basil, thyme, and oregano. I'm already planning to make something with breakfast sausages for next weekend. I can't wait to have this sausage again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe exactly "as-is". Thank you for sharing it, Lee! I made a few variations in subsequent batches, which were great, too. ~ Substitute clove for 1 1/2 tsp fennel seed ~ Substitute red pepper flakes for a pinch of ground red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJMeltz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stuyvesant Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Niskayuna, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Thank you, Thank you, we have been trying to find a breakfast sausage recipe and this one is great. We ate it right away and the flavors were mild, believe the seasonings will be stronger in the morning. We used beef as we do not eat pork, looking forward to trying turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkmarick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
My son who hates sausage asked for more.It doesn't need all the salt. But was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Chef John's Breakfast Sausage Patties

The best way to wake up! See how to make simple homemade breakfast sausage.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States