Breakfast Sausage Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
It's been awhile since I made this; I just realized I never reviewed it. I used home-made whole wheat bread dough instead of frozen and added chopped onion and celery. I also used fresh mushrooms because we don't care for canned. I hesitate to confess this, but I also added a couple of squirts of ketchup to the sausage mixture. I really like ketchup with sausage, it's one of my guilty pleasures. The roll came out great and we ate it for breakfast several days in a row (there are just two of us). Very good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This was good - I used crescent rolls. a little labor intensive to prep but the outcome was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This was wonderful!! Next time I think I will make two long, thin rolls instead of one big one. It will be easier to cut and serve, I think!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This was very good, but as I thought it would be, there's way too much bread. Especially for us. I made this as written except for the egg wash. I'm not one to put egg wash on crusts, etc so I chose not to here as well. We did enjoy it , though. Leftovers reheated nicely in the nuker, and we had/still have leftovers from a couple days ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I can't believe how good this was! I don't care for spicy so I just used 2lbs of mild sausage. My family loved it and it looked so pretty when it came out of the oven. I'm already thinking of other fillings....chicken, broccoli and cheddar cheese? Ham and swiss?? The possibilities are endless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
My family loved this! I halved the recipe for the 3 of us and we still had some left. I used 1 lb. sausage. I added celery, which I sauteed first and added to the previously cooked sausage. I also sauteed fresh mushrooms and finely chopped red pepper before adding to the sausage mixture. I made it jellyroll style and it was good, but I may make calzone style next time. We had it for dinner but it would be great for any meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
To keep this as a breakfast meal, I didn't use Italian sausage/tomato/pizza sauce, etc. Used crescent rolls; cooked the pork sausage; sautéed the green pepper with some finely chopped onion; added the mushrooms and topped the filling with cheddar cheese. Also, I did add 6 eggs (scrambled) to the filling. Made a really good meal with some fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I substituted a french loaf of bread....hallowed it out a little and then stuffed the bread with the ingredients. You can vary the ingredients to suit your tastes. After stuffing both sides of bread, put back together and bake in tin foil for 20 minutes at 325. Gets crispy and the cheese is melted. You can also "dip" this sandwich in a hot broth for added flavor. Great recipe...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Thank you, this is one of the best breakfast receipies that my family enjoys. they request it every other weekend. we have added a few more items into it. Simply great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Sausage bread has been a Christmas tradition in our home for the last 25 years...the only thing I do differently is use onion instead of bell pepper, 1 lb hamburger, 1 lb sausage, 2 different kinds of my favorite cheeses & sliced black olives. Crescent rolls will not taste the same as bread dough. If you can't find frozen bread dough you can use hot roll mix or if you have a favorite yeast bread recipe use it. Pizza sauce makes it to wet & messy. But you could use it for dipping, my son pours buttermilk ranch dressing over his. But whichever way you fix this, its all good, after all its sausage bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kammy W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Alix, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Turkey Sausage Breakfast

See how to make this savory breakfast casserole.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States