Breakfast Sausage Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
A man-pleasing favorite at my house. I did modify a couple of things - I switched the cheese to a combination of monterey jack and sharp cheddar, and I rolled the bread like a jelly roll. It turns out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
This is a great recipe which I have used for many years; only difference is I have used two cans of mushrooms instead of one---ooooh! Go for it. Get crazy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Very simple and a huge hit! I made it for my future father-in-law and he told my future mother-in-law that she had to add this to her rotation. (She didn't seem too impressed with that! ha ha ha.) I made it as written first, but I prefer it with a 14.5 oz can of Italian diced tomatoes. It seems like a giant pizza pocket. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washburn, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Turtle Lake, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This is a great recipe that I have made for years, and is particularly a favorite when I take to Sunday school breakfast-- with one major change. I always mince and saute one whole onion in butter before adding to sausage mixture. I also use Cheddar cheese or a Colby-Jack mix, which keeps it from tasting so much like pizza. Be sure and use the defrosted whole bread loaves, too. Crescents will not give it the same flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I made this for breakfast yesterday. I sauteed green peppers, onion, mushrooms, garlic and fresh roasted green chiles. I then scrambled eggs. I layered the eggs, veggies and cheese. I also made my own bread. Very good! If I were to make as directed, I would add pizza sauce, as other reviewers suggested. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I think this recipe is excellent! I have made the breakfast and also the more pizza type/lunch version. I use lean meat, less cheese and often add in more veggies. You wouldn't want to eat it for breakfast everyday - but it is wonderful for a special occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I have made this for years, usually for special occasions, bc it does make quite a lot. Everyone LOVES it and it is a frequent request from my guests. I follow the recipe as written except for maybe a few extra veggies. I agree it may not be the healthiest recipe on this site but it is easily adaptable to lower fat versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I have made this for years as a dinner item. It is best made with a roll of pizza dough which you can get at any real pizzaria or in the frozen section of some supermarkets in the northeast. Roll pizza dough into a rectangle Also add sauted onions for a bit more flavor. Combine cooked Italian sausage, onions, peppers, mushrooms and mozzarella and spices and toss with 2 lightly beaten large eggs. The eggs help to hold the filling together(there is no eggy taste) up jelly roll style,pinch ends and bake till golden and it sounds hollow when thumped. It may seem like it is too hard when first out of the oven, but it softens right up. Serve in slices as is or with marinara sauce for dipping. I have also made this with chicken and cheddar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I haven't made this yet........ but sounds very good as is. I personally think the bread dough sounds better than the crescent rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Excxcellent, Eespecially enjoyed the Italian twist. On another note, why can't people stick to the subject and offer good objective critiques instead of lecturing and preaching about daily salt intake, calories, portion control, yada , yada yada.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Chef John's Breakfast Sausage Patties

The best way to wake up! See how to make simple homemade breakfast sausage.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States