Breakfast Sausage Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
This recipe is great the way it is but here is a quicker version of this recipe. Use 2 packages of cresant rolls instead of the frozen bread. You don't have to wait for it to thaw, you just put one can cresant rolls on the bottom of 9x13 pan and do the layers as stated in the recipe and put the other can of cresant rolls over the top. Adjust baking time accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
279 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This is a great recipe that I have made for years, and is particularly a favorite when I take to Sunday school breakfast-- with one major change. I always mince and saute one whole onion in butter before adding to sausage mixture. I also use Cheddar cheese or a Colby-Jack mix, which keeps it from tasting so much like pizza. Be sure and use the defrosted whole bread loaves, too. Crescents will not give it the same flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Very simple and a huge hit! I made it for my future father-in-law and he told my future mother-in-law that she had to add this to her rotation. (She didn't seem too impressed with that! ha ha ha.) I made it as written first, but I prefer it with a 14.5 oz can of Italian diced tomatoes. It seems like a giant pizza pocket. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washburn, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Turtle Lake, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
A man-pleasing favorite at my house. I did modify a couple of things - I switched the cheese to a combination of monterey jack and sharp cheddar, and I rolled the bread like a jelly roll. It turns out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I adjusted this recipe and have used it at ALL gatherings...by request...family & friends expect it...HOWEVER, I always use rolled out crescent rolls dough...flour a surface and roll thin...substituted FRESH chopped onions and FRESH mushrooms as well as not so rubbery cheese...I used either a combo of swiss and mild cheddar OR parm....roll up like a jelley roll and brush top with egg white...THIS IS A SLAM DUNK!!! May be frozen after partially baking and ready to go at a moments notice.....TRY this alteration !!!One lb. of sausage(spicy) and a pkg of crescent rolls make at least 4 nice size sausage rolls...great for buffet breakfast OR appetizers with cocktails.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bonne Terre, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Made this last night and baked it this morning for breakfast. It's only the two of us, so I halved the recipe, and it's still a lot! I liked it, but there is a lot of sausage for this roll. I would prefer some more veggies, and chopped tomatoes might be good in this too. I used homemade crescent roll dough. I should have seasoned my sausage a little--it's from bf's parents farm and they don't season their sausage. Some fennel, garlic, and onion powder would have been sufficient to jazz it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I cannot find the white bread dough in my country(Italy) so I use a standard refrigerated round of puff pastry instead. This is very good as written but my favorite is the option mentioned up top with the pizza sauce (I sparingly use VERY thickened tomato sauce with salt and garlic, otherwise the liquid pools at the bottom and the bread becomes soupy and doesn't cook properly). This recipe usually feeds us twice and so I freeze one half the mixture for a later date. It is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
This is a great recipe which I have used for many years; only difference is I have used two cans of mushrooms instead of one---ooooh! Go for it. Get crazy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I think this recipe is excellent! I have made the breakfast and also the more pizza type/lunch version. I use lean meat, less cheese and often add in more veggies. You wouldn't want to eat it for breakfast everyday - but it is wonderful for a special occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Taste was very good. I was hoping that it would stay together better so that I could serve as 'finger food', but this is better with plate and fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Chef John's Breakfast Sausage Patties

The best way to wake up! See how to make simple homemade breakfast sausage.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States