Breakfast Sausage Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
This recipe is great the way it is but here is a quicker version of this recipe. Use 2 packages of cresant rolls instead of the frozen bread. You don't have to wait for it to thaw, you just put one can cresant rolls on the bottom of 9x13 pan and do the layers as stated in the recipe and put the other can of cresant rolls over the top. Adjust baking time accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
A man-pleasing favorite at my house. I did modify a couple of things - I switched the cheese to a combination of monterey jack and sharp cheddar, and I rolled the bread like a jelly roll. It turns out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Just made this today. I left out the peppers and mushrooms. My kids love it. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
This is a great recipe which I have used for many years; only difference is I have used two cans of mushrooms instead of one---ooooh! Go for it. Get crazy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Taste was very good. I was hoping that it would stay together better so that I could serve as 'finger food', but this is better with plate and fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Made this last night and baked it this morning for breakfast. It's only the two of us, so I halved the recipe, and it's still a lot! I liked it, but there is a lot of sausage for this roll. I would prefer some more veggies, and chopped tomatoes might be good in this too. I used homemade crescent roll dough. I should have seasoned my sausage a little--it's from bf's parents farm and they don't season their sausage. Some fennel, garlic, and onion powder would have been sufficient to jazz it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Very simple and a huge hit! I made it for my future father-in-law and he told my future mother-in-law that she had to add this to her rotation. (She didn't seem too impressed with that! ha ha ha.) I made it as written first, but I prefer it with a 14.5 oz can of Italian diced tomatoes. It seems like a giant pizza pocket. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washburn, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Turtle Lake, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This is a great recipe that I have made for years, and is particularly a favorite when I take to Sunday school breakfast-- with one major change. I always mince and saute one whole onion in butter before adding to sausage mixture. I also use Cheddar cheese or a Colby-Jack mix, which keeps it from tasting so much like pizza. Be sure and use the defrosted whole bread loaves, too. Crescents will not give it the same flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I cannot find the white bread dough in my country(Italy) so I use a standard refrigerated round of puff pastry instead. This is very good as written but my favorite is the option mentioned up top with the pizza sauce (I sparingly use VERY thickened tomato sauce with salt and garlic, otherwise the liquid pools at the bottom and the bread becomes soupy and doesn't cook properly). This recipe usually feeds us twice and so I freeze one half the mixture for a later date. It is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I made this for breakfast yesterday. I sauteed green peppers, onion, mushrooms, garlic and fresh roasted green chiles. I then scrambled eggs. I layered the eggs, veggies and cheese. I also made my own bread. Very good! If I were to make as directed, I would add pizza sauce, as other reviewers suggested. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Chef John's Breakfast Sausage Patties

The best way to wake up! See how to make simple homemade breakfast sausage.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States