Breakfast Sausage Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Excxcellent, Eespecially enjoyed the Italian twist. On another note, why can't people stick to the subject and offer good objective critiques instead of lecturing and preaching about daily salt intake, calories, portion control, yada , yada yada.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I haven't made this yet........ but sounds very good as is. I personally think the bread dough sounds better than the crescent rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I have made this for years as a dinner item. It is best made with a roll of pizza dough which you can get at any real pizzaria or in the frozen section of some supermarkets in the northeast. Roll pizza dough into a rectangle Also add sauted onions for a bit more flavor. Combine cooked Italian sausage, onions, peppers, mushrooms and mozzarella and spices and toss with 2 lightly beaten large eggs. The eggs help to hold the filling together(there is no eggy taste) up jelly roll style,pinch ends and bake till golden and it sounds hollow when thumped. It may seem like it is too hard when first out of the oven, but it softens right up. Serve in slices as is or with marinara sauce for dipping. I have also made this with chicken and cheddar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I have made this for years, usually for special occasions, bc it does make quite a lot. Everyone LOVES it and it is a frequent request from my guests. I follow the recipe as written except for maybe a few extra veggies. I agree it may not be the healthiest recipe on this site but it is easily adaptable to lower fat versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I think this recipe is excellent! I have made the breakfast and also the more pizza type/lunch version. I use lean meat, less cheese and often add in more veggies. You wouldn't want to eat it for breakfast everyday - but it is wonderful for a special occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I adjusted this recipe and have used it at ALL gatherings...by request...family & friends expect it...HOWEVER, I always use rolled out crescent rolls dough...flour a surface and roll thin...substituted FRESH chopped onions and FRESH mushrooms as well as not so rubbery cheese...I used either a combo of swiss and mild cheddar OR parm....roll up like a jelley roll and brush top with egg white...THIS IS A SLAM DUNK!!! May be frozen after partially baking and ready to go at a moments notice.....TRY this alteration !!!One lb. of sausage(spicy) and a pkg of crescent rolls make at least 4 nice size sausage rolls...great for buffet breakfast OR appetizers with cocktails.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bonne Terre, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Great recipe. I have been making a different version for many, many years. One loaf of dough and shaped into a wreath at Xmas. Or, fill with canned apples and cinnamon. Very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Merryfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Excellent breakfast and anytime roll! Used rosemary and herb seasoning that I had instead of the 4 herbs (little over a Tbls) and it was perfect. Can't wait to try the "pizza/italian" way :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I made this for breakfast yesterday. I sauteed green peppers, onion, mushrooms, garlic and fresh roasted green chiles. I then scrambled eggs. I layered the eggs, veggies and cheese. I also made my own bread. Very good! If I were to make as directed, I would add pizza sauce, as other reviewers suggested. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I cannot find the white bread dough in my country(Italy) so I use a standard refrigerated round of puff pastry instead. This is very good as written but my favorite is the option mentioned up top with the pizza sauce (I sparingly use VERY thickened tomato sauce with salt and garlic, otherwise the liquid pools at the bottom and the bread becomes soupy and doesn't cook properly). This recipe usually feeds us twice and so I freeze one half the mixture for a later date. It is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Chef John's Breakfast Sausage Patties

The best way to wake up! See how to make simple homemade breakfast sausage.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States