Breakfast Prune Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I thought the fat content was too high. Next time, I will try using applesauce instead. This time, I used whole wheat flour and yogurt instead of ap flour and buttermilk. the family enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Oh fuss and bother..."fat content"? don"t eat so much and enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
this is a very good cake moist and the taste is outstanding. I put a glaze on mine yum. My glaze was butter lemon and orange juice sugar and powder sugar did not measure but you should be able to figure it out. I used 1cup of white sugar and a half of a cup of brown sugar and i used a teaspoon of orange extract with the vanilla in the cake batter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pitterpat
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
My husband and I love this cake! It is moist and delicious as well as beautiful. I like to change recipes to make them healthier, so for the fat, I used 1/2 cup unsalted butter, about 1/4 cup coconut oil and about 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce. For the flour, I used a mixture of white wheat grain, oats and flax that I ground in my VitaMix. I used brown sugar and baked in a large bundt cake pan (see photo above). Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly as written. It was the first time I have ever tried prune cake and I was delighted! I will use this one a lot. It is wonderful with herbal tea. Thank you, LauraT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This is a slightly different version of a recipe that was passed down from my grandma. I use 2 9 inch round pans and ice with the following recipe: 4 tablespoons butter melted, 1/4 teaspoon lemon juice, juice from the stewed prunes, confectioners sugar and cinnamon to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This is a terrific recipe. Super moist and delicious! It makes a lot. I don't have a 9" tube pan, so mine ended up in two 9" round pans, plus the extra in a bread pan. I baked all three at once for 30 minutes. Also, to stew prunes easily, try one of these methods: 1) Put them in a pan, cover with water, and simmer on low for 20-ish minutes, or until they look plump. 2) Put them in a container, cover them with water, and leave them in the fridge overnight. You can also add a touch of lemon juice to either method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Fortunately the kids who truly do not like prunes LOVE it. Thanks for this great recipe. With the shells of the walnuts I made my 'hair-paint' at the same time. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
This is so moist and delicious! I made half a recipe for six (6) jumbo muffins that baked perfectly at 350 deg F for 25 min. I replaced the shortening with a small cup of unsweetened apple sauce and 1 tblsp of coconut oil. I cut back on the sugar (which I normally do) by about 1/4 cup, using a combination of white and brown sugar and used 1 full tsp of vanilla. I also added the optional walnuts, plus 1 tblsp of ground flax seed. I topped the muffins with turbinado sugar and walnuts before baking which gave them a nice crunch. The spice amounts are spot-on for a delicious spice cake taste, but even better knowing there are prunes in this (but you would never know it)! I just had one with a hot cup of tea, and it was excellent! Thanks for a great recipe LauraT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States