Breakfast Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
The original recipe is pretty bland (although I used 1 cup of mixed frozen berries since that's all I had on hand) but they were tremendously moist. It's a great base recipe that I'll use from now on but I'll top with sugar to accommodate the taste & will definitely tweak it with different additions from some of the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
These were quite tasty. I tried to make them exactly as written. But my blueberries were from a fresh batch I froze maybe two months earlier, so I thawed, rinsed and stemmed 1 cup of them for this recipe. Also, I was finishing off a can of baking powder, so I used a little more than 2 1/2 teaspoons - probably more like three. The muffins came out nicely fluffy. I found that the minimum baking time of 20 minutes was plenty - they were nicely golden-brown by then. I don't think I'd ever done the "lightly touched" test - I've always used a toothpick - but it worked! I guess I can recommend this recipe for quick and easy breakfast muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Just made these, they have a weird taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
these didn't have any flavor at all, very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
The recipe was SUPER easy! And quick! My only complaint was that they were not sweet enough. That was the comment from both my husband and my son, too. We used 1/2 cup peaches and 1/2 cup strawberries, and that was great, but the muffins themselves weren't that sweet. Also, I added 1/4 tsp of pumpkin pie spice (because I had run out of cinnamon!) and that was a good idea. Next time, I'll add cinnamon instead, but I'm fearful of how much sugar to add, and what I would need to balance it with, so the recipe turns out with the same fluffiness! Overall, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I found these to be dry and not sweet enough. I'm making another batch now that I've doubled and added the following 1/2 cup of apple sauce; 1/4 cup of oil; 1/2 cup of yogurt; Hoping to get a moist and sweet muffin. I also upped the sugar to 1 cup (keep in mind I doubled the original recipe). I'll add that I do think that this is an excellent starting point because you can add whatever you want to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Easy recipe with common ingredients already in the pantry. I followed the recipe using blueberries and highly recommend this recipe if you don't like overly sweet muffins. The muffins turned out great with a English Muffin taste. The muffin tops were perfectly crispy and soft inside. The blueberries added just the right amount of sweetness and you can actually taste the berry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Pretty good, I did fresh blueberry and peach, added vanilla and subbed a combo of oil and applesauce for the butter. I added a little more sugar because it didnt seem like a lot, and I added the juice of half a lemon to the milk. It tasted a tiny bit biscuit-y and I'm not sure why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Tasted pretty good but very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami Shores, Florida, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
These were just ok. I agree with earlier reviews that they were biscuit-like. I used fresh blueberries which made the insides too moist - almost gooey. Next time I will thaw frozen blueberries and rinse them. I will probably enjoy these as an afternoon snack but for breakfast I want something sweeter and more cake-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States