Breakfast Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
LOVED! I was a little sad when first preparing this only because of all the bread going to waste when hollowing out my loaf (didn't know what to do with it). But it was worth it! I followed the recipe exactly and it was beautiful to look at as well as delicious. I would make this for company but make two because my husband and I ate this whole thing in one sitting!! I put garlic spread at the bottom of the loaf before adding everything else. I ate mine with salsa and he ate his with hot sauce (we like our food with some kick).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
These were amazing ,I make individual loafs so each person could customize theirs. Some used ham some used sausage ,they were all very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kc.dunn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
After reading the recipe, I was extremely excited. After tasting the food, I was disappointed. The concept is great and we may try a variation later, but won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I made this for the first time for my 2 sons & 3 grandkids & they LOVED it! I didn't have any tomatoes, so I didn't use them but it was still fantastic! I was worried it might be somewhat dry but far from it. The only thing I would change is the serving size; it should serve only 4 instead of 6!!! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ncsaggal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
5 stars for the idea and filling. I read reviews and did a few alterations but kept the basic recipe. I used a round loaf of peasant bread from price chopper (too hard-wont use again) I mixed olive oil and garlic powder and brushed the inside bowl and the outer surface with it before filling and wrapping in foil. I used a jar of marinated roasted red peppers in place of regular red peppers for taste and softness. The result was delicious had it not been for the toughness of the bread. I need a much softer bread for the next time. Co workers loved the flavor. I did as one reviewer said after making the night before and leaving in fridge I took out and let sit at room temp for 30 min. then baked in foil for 30 min. It was still only slightly warm-not hot enough for my taste-this could have been because of the tough shell of the bread I used. All in all a great idea and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ogdensburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
delicious. made the night before and reheated in the oven at 350 for 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I made this tonight as a sort of breakfast for dinner meal. I added sauteed mushrooms and scallions to the eggs and also a layer of fresh spinach. I brushed the crust with milk and turned the whole thing upside down for the last 15 minutes of baking to avoid overbaking the bottom crust. I still found it difficult to eat. You can't pick a slice up like a sandwich and using a knife and fork doesn't work so well as the crust is tough for cutting. I wish I could figure out how to make the crust tender. I will be very happy if someone can come up with a tender crust version because it is so pretty and good tasting. I would love to serve it to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Made this today for brunch. Only had a tiny bit of ham, so subbed in crispy bacon. Didn't have peppers or tomatoes, so threw in some salsa. Very, very good! I'd take previous reviewers suggestion of brushing some milk on the loaf before wrapping it, and it came out very nicely. Just a touch of crispyness. Only issue was the aluminum foil stuck to the bread a bit because of the milk. It came off with a bit of coaxing, but next time I'll lightly spray the foil with non-stick spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn Fennell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
it's an awesome idea and recipe. My whole family loved it, especially the fact that we don't have to worry about waking up thinking about what to have for breakfast on weekends. THANKS for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I rate it 5 stars, but always put what my husband rates it whig was 4 stars. I made this for breakfast for another couple and us and wetting LOVED it, I will definitely make it again. I had a really hard time finding a large enough loaf, I literally searched 5 grocery stores and bakeries in Seattle before finding one that had one that was .8 lbs loaf so I just made a slightly smaller one and used sourdough instead since that is all they had. I topped the tomatoes with a thin layer of hot salsa and it was Devine. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 00Angela00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States