Breakfast Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
Used L'il Beef Smokies and wrapped the dough around as some suggested. Made some with Potatoes O'Brien and some without. All were yummy and very similar to the ones we got in Texas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
I am delighted to find this recipe. I bought the hash browns but couldn't get them to stay on the dough, so I just put them back in the freezer. Besides, I never had them in the kolaches back home in Texas. Next time I'll cut the cheese in 'sticks' and wrap the dough around the cheese and sausage. I used the little smokies as some other reviewers suggested and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
My whole family thought these were great and my kids are very picky eaters. It was really nice to be able to make these the night before and just pop them in oven in the morning. These are a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
my mom used to make this for me for breakfast when i was younger. now, i'm 16, and i have been looking for this recipe. she used to call it 'bull's eye sandwhich' and would use two pieces of bread sometimes. i think i'm going to make this now, it definitely brings back memories of those days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
They were very good. I did not use frozen hash brown instead I used the hash brown package from the deli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
I too use little smokies along with shredded Monterey Jack or Colby Jack cheese. My co-workers loved this recipe when I brought it in for a breakfast potluck and I plan on using it for tailgating as well as holidays - talk about versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
I too moved from Texas and never thought I'd ever have Kolaches again in Washington State. When I found this recipe - I was so excited and even more elated to find out how Yummy they were! The dough is as sweet as the Kolaches back in Houston and I can't believe how easy it is to make the dough in my bread machine. Now everytime we have guests, I make these. The instructions for making the dough the night before work like a charm! I stuff mine with Lil Smokies in place of the hash browns, cheese and sausage (glorified pigs-in-the-blanket I know, but those were my favorite kind of kolaches back in Texas). I also brush them with melted butter 2/3 of the way through the cooking. Yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
After moving from Texas to New Jersey I was afraid I'd never find these again. The first time I saw this I knew I had to make them. They are wonderful! I didn't use the hashbrowns and used shreded cheddar in place of the sliced cheddar (since I had it in the fridge already).My family and several family friends devoured these in minutes. Great to make ahead and store for a day or two in the fridge. I microwaved them for 20 seconds each & they were like great! If you are ever planning a brunch, you really should add these to the menu! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2001
Good recipe for breakfast or any time! I used this recipe with sausage, cheese and potatoes. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-79 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States