Breakfast Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Not quite sure why I didn't like these more. The first few bites were very good but then they started to grow on me in a very bad way. I didn't care for the sliced cheese at all. Perhaps shredded cheddar would compliment the flavors better. I would also recommend cooking the hashbrowns before putting them on the kolaches because mine came out very hard and pretty flavorless. You'll definitely want to cook the sausage first also. The only reason I'm giving this 3 stars is because the bread was excellent. I will probably make again using the adjustments mentioned above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosebud, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This recipe takes quite a bit of work, and not worth the effort. They were a bit bland, and my family did not enjoy them. Now I have about 20 of these Kolaches that no one will eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I LOVE this recipe!!~~ I use jalapeno sausage!! Hubby asks for them weekly.. WTG!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Demore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Schertz, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
I made cloverleaf rolls for dinner last night from this recipe and it was fabulous. When dough is ready in breadmaker, punch down and remove to lightly floured countertop. Pinch off and roll dough into balls and place three in each muffin tin. Cover lightly and set aside to rise about 30 minutes or until doubled. Pop into 375 degree oven until golden brown. I didn't egg wash prior to baking, wasn't necessary. They were a lovely golden brown. Absolutely perfecto!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
I used the bread from this recipe to make Pigs in a Blanket and it was so yummy. I also used the bread by itself and made dinner rolls, just brush a little honey butter over the top and you're good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMGROUPIEGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forney, Texas, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
ok...Like another reviewer said earlier - when I actually got down to making this - the instructions had a lot of holes in it... Unless perhaps you have made Kolaches and know a bit about the results in advance.. For example...Is the sausage supposed to be cooked?? Raw???. Silly me...I made it with uncooked links and it turned out gross with everything melted on top of raw meat. I could only fit a teaspoon of hash browns in them if I made the bals the size instructed to make them! So we cooked them and tried again..My daughter and I burst out laughing at the amount we could fit on this little bit of dough... "ok..and you can have one teaspoon of potato on yours!" I could not ...get THAT many balls out of the recipe and had even doubled each piece and still there was no room to stuff them. Was I even suppossed to stuff them or leave the stuff on top. We tried it both ways..because we did not know. I wondered if by chance I was shaping them incorrectly. I too eventually went to the internet in an attempt to find a picture Too vague and for me this meant an eventual flop which never got to the table. I finally got tired of trying to make this work and what should have been my Christmas Morning Masterpiece ended up in the garbage on Christmas Eve... a total waste of ingredients and time. I will not make this again without clearer instructions! I guessed wrong! I think?? Sorry - I am usually not this hard on the recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina Farahmandi Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I also thought I would never have kolaches again having moved from Houston to Arizona. When I saw this recipe I went out and bought a bread machine. The recipe was easy to follow, the only change I made was wrapping the dough all around the filling, also like other users I omitted the hashbrowns. I made some with sausage and cheese and some with ham and cheese, also I added jalapenos to a few. I will be making these again, just be sure not to use too much dough, I did but they still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
These were perfect! They taste just like the ones from my favorite kolache shop. The dough is the important part of this recipe- you can fill it with whatever you want. One note: The portions seemed wrong to me since they were so small. They aren't the dough is moist and rises a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I modified the recipe slightly by using bulk sausage andadding scrambled eggs to it. My husband and I have breakfast at my in-laws every Sunday and these were a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Fantastic!!! I had never had these before, but seeing all the rave reviews I just had to try them. They are just WONDERFUL! I ate 3 of them before the second batch even came out of the oven. I made half with the sausages and cheese and half with an apple filling and crumble topping. YUM! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States