Breakfast Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I didn't have a bread machine so I used my kitchenaid mixer, the kind that can probably take over the world some day. I ended up with a franken recipe from that manual which goes as follow: I heated the milk, sugar, and butter on low heat until it was dissolved/melted. Per my franken recipe instructions I mixed dry ingredients together (-1/2 cup flour) and then added liquids gradually. Last I slowly added the rest of the flour. It turned out really well. I formed the dough balls and let those sit overnight in the fridge, but I probably should have made them up until the point they are popped in the oven because it kinda had a weird crust the next day. Still turned out good, but if you are preparing them for overnight storage make sure you fold in the fillings before they siesta in the frig. Thanks for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This was a great recipe! I didn't have bread flour so I used all-purpose. I don't know the difference between the two anyways. The kolaches still turned out great. I used different fillings and rolled them up as was shown in the photo even though I know it was meant to put on top. I sauted green peppers, broccoli and chopped tomatoes and put that in with some scrambled eggs and bacon and shredded cheese. I also prepared them and left them on a baking sheet in the fridge overnight to bake in the morning. Worked great! I did have to increase the baking time a little bit though and I brushed them with butter. I also made some for dinner last night but in those I put some sauted roast beef lunch meat with au jus and some cheese in the middle and then baked them. Serve with the Au Jus for dipping as well. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I have never made Kolaches before but this recipe was fun to make and came out yummy. The reviews were also very helpful. I also used different fruit preserves topped with cream cheese glaze to make a variety of tasty treats. I also used ham and bacon which I had precooked as well as the little smokies. I am very pleased with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mindi9206
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This recipe is AMAZING. I added a little extra sugar b/c we like ours a little sweeter. This didn't affect the texture of the dough at all. I also used whole sausages and folded the dough over the sausage rather than pressing the sausage into the middle of the dough as the recipe suggested. Will try w/velveeta cheese next time rather than grated cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindi9206

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Not quite sure why I didn't like these more. The first few bites were very good but then they started to grow on me in a very bad way. I didn't care for the sliced cheese at all. Perhaps shredded cheddar would compliment the flavors better. I would also recommend cooking the hashbrowns before putting them on the kolaches because mine came out very hard and pretty flavorless. You'll definitely want to cook the sausage first also. The only reason I'm giving this 3 stars is because the bread was excellent. I will probably make again using the adjustments mentioned above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosebud, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This recipe takes quite a bit of work, and not worth the effort. They were a bit bland, and my family did not enjoy them. Now I have about 20 of these Kolaches that no one will eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I LOVE this recipe!!~~ I use jalapeno sausage!! Hubby asks for them weekly.. WTG!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Demore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Schertz, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
I made cloverleaf rolls for dinner last night from this recipe and it was fabulous. When dough is ready in breadmaker, punch down and remove to lightly floured countertop. Pinch off and roll dough into balls and place three in each muffin tin. Cover lightly and set aside to rise about 30 minutes or until doubled. Pop into 375 degree oven until golden brown. I didn't egg wash prior to baking, wasn't necessary. They were a lovely golden brown. Absolutely perfecto!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
I used the bread from this recipe to make Pigs in a Blanket and it was so yummy. I also used the bread by itself and made dinner rolls, just brush a little honey butter over the top and you're good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMGROUPIEGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forney, Texas, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
ok...Like another reviewer said earlier - when I actually got down to making this - the instructions had a lot of holes in it... Unless perhaps you have made Kolaches and know a bit about the results in advance.. For example...Is the sausage supposed to be cooked?? Raw???. Silly me...I made it with uncooked links and it turned out gross with everything melted on top of raw meat. I could only fit a teaspoon of hash browns in them if I made the bals the size instructed to make them! So we cooked them and tried again..My daughter and I burst out laughing at the amount we could fit on this little bit of dough... "ok..and you can have one teaspoon of potato on yours!" I could not ...get THAT many balls out of the recipe and had even doubled each piece and still there was no room to stuff them. Was I even suppossed to stuff them or leave the stuff on top. We tried it both ways..because we did not know. I wondered if by chance I was shaping them incorrectly. I too eventually went to the internet in an attempt to find a picture Too vague and for me this meant an eventual flop which never got to the table. I finally got tired of trying to make this work and what should have been my Christmas Morning Masterpiece ended up in the garbage on Christmas Eve... a total waste of ingredients and time. I will not make this again without clearer instructions! I guessed wrong! I think?? Sorry - I am usually not this hard on the recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina Farahmandi Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States