Breakfast Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This is one of those recipes I use a lot and have never reviewed. Do yourself a favor and wrap this dough around your favorite smoked sausage! I do spicy/hot/jalapeño/hot links for grown ups and Little Smokies and Eckrich Smok*y Links for the kiddos. Fantastic! Keep them in the freezer and zap for a quick on the go breakfast or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
The bread for these was fantastic! Just what I was looking for. I made these into a Texas-style kolache by cookie up some lil' smokies and wrapping the dough around the sausage and a bit of cheddar cheese before baking. The filling popped out of some of the kolaches, but they were super-tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Honor Ross
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I made two kinds of these, strawberry and mango. Strawberry wansn't so good, but mango was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honor Ross

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
the main problem I had with this recipe seemed to be the baking temperature, as the bottoms of the buns were burned. I would likely try this again with a lower baking temperature next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Thank you Melissa!!! I just cannot tell you how excited I am to have this recipe. I am sitting here eating one, and ohhhh it is so good! I did make a few changes.. I did the dough just like the recipe says - it was perfect. I didn't have any smokies, so I used ground sausage and shaped it into little smoky shapes and cooked it while the dough was making. Once my dough was done, I did the ball thing with no problem and instead of waiting 15 min. I went ahead and flattened them and put the sausage on it with a little piece of velveeta. Then I rolled them up and let them sit the 15 minutes on the greased baking pan. Baked to perfection in 10 minutes. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I wish I could give it more stars. This is better than any that you can buy. I have made this about a dozen times and they always turn out great. I have stuffed them with pizza filling, sauages, and boudin so far and everyone raves!!!Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
These were just OK. Maybe it was the sausage that I used but the dough had a wang to it. They ended up in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Finally, a recipe for kolaches the way I loved having them in Texas! These are great. I make two changes - I don't add potatoes (have never heard of that before), and I wrap the dough around the sausage and cheese rather than making the indentation. Excellent recipe - thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
So easy and just like I remember them from a little bakery in West, Texas. My kids love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I didn't have a bread machine so I used my kitchenaid mixer, the kind that can probably take over the world some day. I ended up with a franken recipe from that manual which goes as follow: I heated the milk, sugar, and butter on low heat until it was dissolved/melted. Per my franken recipe instructions I mixed dry ingredients together (-1/2 cup flour) and then added liquids gradually. Last I slowly added the rest of the flour. It turned out really well. I formed the dough balls and let those sit overnight in the fridge, but I probably should have made them up until the point they are popped in the oven because it kinda had a weird crust the next day. Still turned out good, but if you are preparing them for overnight storage make sure you fold in the fillings before they siesta in the frig. Thanks for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States