Breakfast Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
I use this recipe frequently! I stuff with small sausages and velveta cheese, or with deli ham and velveta cheese. This is a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This dough is great! However, make sure you peek into your bread machine after all ingredients have been thoroughly mixed (for my 20-year-old machine, that's about 10 minutes after hitting start). If the dough looks runny, add more flour. I usually have to add 1/3 cup of flour. Dough should be thick, forming a loose ball when the machine is spinning it. I also did not follow the recipe past the dough cycle; I put in 1 or 2 Little Smokie sausages with as much shredded cheese as I can fit, lift the edges of the dough up and around filling, crimp, and then LIGHTLY roll the stuffed dough into a ball in my (floured) hands. Another suggestion: it is totally ok to use a rolling pin with this dough to help you separate it more evenly- no need to roll the dough into balls before filling them; they rise just as well if they're already flattened out. Finally, I add at least 1 extra rise, right after filling. For all of the rises, I lay the dough on a lined or greased cookie sheet and set in my oven (turned off) and put a pan of boiling water below the racks-- the steam makes them nearly triple in size over 15 minutes! If you live in a dry area, you can also lightly spritz the dough with pam to prevent tops from crusting over, and/or spray a sheet of plastic/foil with pam and lay over dough. Keep the dough covered this way at all possible times when not in the oven! I've also made fruit and cream cheese kolaches, as well as pepperoni-mozzarella balls, with this dough- delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Its great I like the idea of making them up the night before. My great grandson asked me to stuff some with creamed corn. Wow that worked well I can tell you. PT in New Zealand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter Nichol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This is a wonderful recipe. I have used the dough not only for kolaches, but rolls as well. I added jalapenos and cheese and made burger buns. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Perfect. After the dough came out of the machine, I formed 18 small rolls and let rise for an hour. Soft pillows of dough...only way to describe them! After rising I encased a lil smoky sausage into each roll, putting seam-side down on baking sheet before baking. These tasted perfect. I don't think I need to change the sugar in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smitamom
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Very good!! Made mini ones without hash browns , used turkey sausage with cheese...baked them and froze them...quick breakfast to go in the am!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
The recipe was too vague, fortunately I have made these before. But if prepared as stated they would be something not nearly resembling kolaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bath, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I lived in Houston for some time, and grew to love these delicious meat filled or sweet filled bread. They were so amazing, and it was a staple at any office party or meeting in the AM. For so long I looked high and low, no luck. Saw this recipe and gave it a try - If you are proficient in making bread, no problem. It is important to understand following directions very carefully, and you should be okay. Give them a try, they will become a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M Johnson Miner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grantsville, Utah, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy Van de Moortele
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Had never tries kolache before. I read about them in a book and I wanted to try them right away so I looked for a recipe and yours came up with many good reviews. I had no sausage, but I had some leftover ham that I used. I topped the potato with scallions. Love those rolls. Will wrap them up and freeze them for work lunches later on. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Van de Moortele

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Val's Mom
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I did a Ham and Cheese and a Desert Triple Berry, and my Roommate can't stop raving about them! Definitely gonna do this again and try different fillings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States