Breakfast Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
ok...Like another reviewer said earlier - when I actually got down to making this - the instructions had a lot of holes in it... Unless perhaps you have made Kolaches and know a bit about the results in advance.. For example...Is the sausage supposed to be cooked?? Raw???. Silly me...I made it with uncooked links and it turned out gross with everything melted on top of raw meat. I could only fit a teaspoon of hash browns in them if I made the bals the size instructed to make them! So we cooked them and tried again..My daughter and I burst out laughing at the amount we could fit on this little bit of dough... "ok..and you can have one teaspoon of potato on yours!" I could not ...get THAT many balls out of the recipe and had even doubled each piece and still there was no room to stuff them. Was I even suppossed to stuff them or leave the stuff on top. We tried it both ways..because we did not know. I wondered if by chance I was shaping them incorrectly. I too eventually went to the internet in an attempt to find a picture Too vague and for me this meant an eventual flop which never got to the table. I finally got tired of trying to make this work and what should have been my Christmas Morning Masterpiece ended up in the garbage on Christmas Eve... a total waste of ingredients and time. I will not make this again without clearer instructions! I guessed wrong! I think?? Sorry - I am usually not this hard on the recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina Farahmandi Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I also thought I would never have kolaches again having moved from Houston to Arizona. When I saw this recipe I went out and bought a bread machine. The recipe was easy to follow, the only change I made was wrapping the dough all around the filling, also like other users I omitted the hashbrowns. I made some with sausage and cheese and some with ham and cheese, also I added jalapenos to a few. I will be making these again, just be sure not to use too much dough, I did but they still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
These were perfect! They taste just like the ones from my favorite kolache shop. The dough is the important part of this recipe- you can fill it with whatever you want. One note: The portions seemed wrong to me since they were so small. They aren't the dough is moist and rises a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I modified the recipe slightly by using bulk sausage andadding scrambled eggs to it. My husband and I have breakfast at my in-laws every Sunday and these were a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Fantastic!!! I had never had these before, but seeing all the rave reviews I just had to try them. They are just WONDERFUL! I ate 3 of them before the second batch even came out of the oven. I made half with the sausages and cheese and half with an apple filling and crumble topping. YUM! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
These are just like the kolaches I've been enjoying for years in Central Texas, minus the hash browns. The dough is the key ingredient in this recipe, you can add many different things as the filling. We love smoked sausage and cheese. Jalepenos are also great with those. Thanks so much for this recipe, it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
OH MY GOSH These are so good!! My hubby loves Kolaches and I have been looking at recipes but they all seemed so time consuming. These were so EASY to make, my husband said if he didn't see me do it he would of swore I spent all day making these :) Thanks for the wonderful recipe. We will be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Great flavor. My family loved them. Just make sure you don't make the dough balls too large. I did and so mine turned out to be more dough than filling. Next time I'll try basting with melted butter while they bake as another reviewer suggested. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
I had kolaches in the airport a few weeks ago. I'd never heard of them but my dad raved so I bought a few different varieties to try. They were wonderful!!! They are really really close to those. Thank you!!! The sweetness in the dough is what makes them worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whiteland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I found the directions for these to be a little vague. Having randomly stumbled upon this recipe, I decided to try it, never having seen actual kolaches before.In the end, I had to search around on the internet for better directions for assembling them. I found it easier to roll the sausages up like pigs in a blanket rather than just placing them on the centre of the dough. Good, but nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States